In Honor and Remembrance

 no act of kindness

I haven’t taken much time on my blog to talk about the senseless tragedy that occurred at Sandy Hook Elementary school on Friday, December 14, 2012.  I posted a poem about the loss, but otherwise, I’ve been relatively silent about it.  This isn’t because I don’t want to talk about it.  In fact, it’s just the opposite.  I think it needs to be talked about.  I think, all too frequently, we forget tragedies like this as well as others such as Columbine and 9/11.  Like a lot of other things, those memories fade with time.  I get that.  Our heart guards itself. 

I don’t believe that we should all walk around in fear of each other or of what the future could hold for us.  Instead, I think we should each make a concerted effort everyday to see the pain in other people, and to make a positive difference in the lives of those we come into contact with.  I’m not saying that these tragedies could have been prevented – sadly, there’s no way to know if that’s the case.  And I’m not sure that any of us would actually feel better if we knew that those tragedies could have been stopped beforehand simply with an act of kindness. 

I do believe, however, that it’s time to focus on ‘paying it forward.’  Have you seen that movie?  Pay It Forward?  It’s an incredibly poignant and touching movie.  If you can watch it and not cry, then I think perhaps you might be broken. 

As I’ve been reflecting on the tragedy at Sandy Hook over the last few days I keep coming back to the fact that in a month, this story will be forgotten by the majority of the populous.  That makes me sad.  I know that the grief of that day will forever live on in the families and loved ones of those 26 souls that went to meet their Savior that day.  Thinking about this tragedy makes me sad.  My heart cries for those families. 

So the question remains: how can I remember this tragedy without being overwhelmed with sadness?  I think, perhaps, I have the answer (at least for myself).  In honor of those 26 souls, I will, over the course of 2013, pay it forward.  On the 14th of every month, I am going to practice a random act of kindness to a complete stranger.  This might be paying for the guy behind me at Starbucks, giving clothing and food to a homeless person, or cooking dinner for a family in need.  There aren’t any specifics or ‘rules’ except the date… the 14th

To my friends, family, and to those complete strangers that read this blog post I ask this of you… would you practice a random act of kindness on a regular basis if you knew that it might have the potential to prevent a tragedy like this?  I heard a story the other day about a lady driving through Starbucks and when she got to the window, the cashier informed her that her order had been paid for by the person in front of her.  She, in turn, decided to pay for the order of the person behind her.  She asked the cashier how long this had been going on, and the cashier said ‘at least the last two and a half hours.’  I realize that it’s coffee, but how profound is this?  That with one simple random act of kindness this started a trend that lasted for hours and brightened the lives of who knows how many others. 

Will you join with me in honor and remembrance of the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary by practicing a random act of kindness on the 14th of every month?  I hope you will. 

I would love for you to post ideas for RAOK’s or your own personal experiences with them.  Please feel free to put the button below on your blog. 

raok sandy hook

You can read about my RAOK experience throughout the year by clicking these links:

January

I’m sharing the word about this project here:

bloom

hhpweekendlinkparty22

One Artsy Mama

Creatively Living Blog

UndertheTableandDreaming

logo_Sundae2

cit

alderberry hill

Lil\'Luna

Beyond The Picket Fence

igottacreate_valentine_party_button_400

Made in a Day
HookinupwithHoHnew2
 
livelaughlinky-250x250
 
Chic on a Shoestring Decorating
 
It's Overflowing
 
Spotlight Saturday button

Mod Vintage Life

Crafty Confessions

Photobucket

Home Stories A2Z

Skip To My Lou

primpbutton2

friday+fun+party+button2

DIY Show Off

MondayFunday-150by150_zpsafba4c83

More the Merrier Monday

7 responses to “In Honor and Remembrance

  1. Thanks for taking the time to post for a wonderful cause….the cause of caring for others! I will be passing this along :)

  2. Pingback: In Honor and Remembrance...Random Acts of Kindness. - Creatively Living Blog

  3. Tammie

    Robyn Bomar, for her 38th birthday, did 38 RAOK (Random Acts of Kindness). You can hopefully read it in the link below.

    http://allspunout365.wordpress.com/tag/robyn-bomar/

    • Tammie, I’m so happy that you’ve heard of this! I was absolutely inspired by Robyn’s post about a year and a half ago when I first read it. I would LOVE to participate in her birthday project one year. Maybe this will be my year? She has some amazing RAOK ideas and I’ll definitely be borrowing a few. Thanks for reading!

  4. I love this idea. I will be joining you and sharing this too!

  5. Pingback: In Honor and Remembrance: My January RAOK in Honor of Sandy Hook « changingmymarbles

  6. Pingback: In Honor and Remembrance: My February RAOK in Honor of Sandy Hook « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

