Debt, n. An ingenious substitute for the chain and whip of the slavedriver. ~Ambrose Bierce, The Devil’s Dictionary, 1911

Today is a wonderful day.

Today my husband and I mailed off a check completely paying off one of our debts.  I wish I could say that it was the last payment on all of our debts, but we’re not quite there yet.  What I can say is that we’ve been paying on this particular debt for about a year and a half and recently came into some extra funds which we responsibly decided to use to pay off this debt.  What a relief in these uncertain times it is to know that there’s one huge camel off our backs. 

We still have more debt to go but I’m so very proud of us for getting where we are.  We both learned our lessons years ago about credit cards, the IRS, and various other money pitfalls but we’re still paying for those mistakes.  Once we’re done paying for them, we’re really done.  No more credit.  If we can’t pay cash, we’re not getting it.  That’s our motto at least.  The only exception to that will be house when we do eventually get to that point in our lives. 

It hasn’t been an easy journey.  Upon combining finances including both the money made and the money owed my husband and I learned that we have incredibly different ideas about where money should be budgeted.  I can’t say I’m honestly surprised by this.  My husband and I grew up in very different ways, one of us with money and one of us without.  It didn’t make it easy to see things eye to eye when we didn’t start at the same place.  But, we’ve worked it out, or at least we’ve learned to compromise as much as is probably possible.  We have a budget and we have a schedule for paying off our debt.  As of today we’re about four months ahead of schedule thanks to that check that’s in the hands of the USPS right now.  So this is me patting myself, my husband, and my handy-dandy little Excel budget on the back.  Go us.

One response to “Debt, n. An ingenious substitute for the chain and whip of the slavedriver. ~Ambrose Bierce, The Devil’s Dictionary, 1911

  1. Lindsey Brown

    I’ve got an idea for a project you can do one of these days: help me create my own handy dandy Excel spreadsheet!! Jared and I really need to get our finances in order, and my old methods for tracking just aren’t cutting it anymore!

Leave a Reply

