“It pays to plan ahead. It wasn’t raining when Noah built the ark.”

I am a person with a plan, a plan for everything that is.  Take my type A personality and combine it with some OCD tendencies and that’s just what you end up with… a planner.  Sometimes I think even my plans have plans and there are plans for how to make plans.  It’s sort of all a little ridiculous sometimes but it’s just how I function best.  I need order, or at least, at the bare minimum, organized chaos.  I think if I’m honest with myself this drives some of my friends and family members absolutely crazy.  Several of them are not planners.  They’re the fly-by-the-seat-of-their-pants, take-random-road-trips and generally-enjoy-life type people.  I on the other hand am the kind of person who needs to pencil you into my calendar a month in advance and then will harass you the week before until we nail down specifics.  I swear I can hear them on the other end of the phone sometimes just thinking “what is wrong with her?!?!”  Most of the time though we get it all worked out with minimal damage done to our psyches. 

Sometimes, even with the best laid plans, things do not go as intended.  Yesterday was one of those days.  Each week I sit down with my calendar and figure out a few things… I decide on a menu for the week, what we’re going to watch on TV (we don’t have cable and therefore I have to look everything up on tvguide.com… making a “schedule” keeps us from flipping channels randomly until we happen to land on something we like… I know, I know, OCD), what “extra-curricular” activities we have planned, and now, what I’m going to do for this blog.  There’s honestly a lot of work that goes into this but I can’t imagine doing it any other way.  Sometimes I’ll get sick of planning and decide I’m just going to “roll with it.”  In the end I always find myself frazzled and stressed out and running back to my various planning tools.  Two weeks ago I purchased a few crafty items off of Oriental Trading.  I’ve been eyeballing that website forever but never actually placed an order.  With this blog going, I decided to go ahead and order a few things.  They arrived in the mail last week and I’ve been hanging on to them with the intention of doing some of them this week (yesterday) for the blog.  Last night I went into my office and planned on working on some of these craft-kits for about an hour.  Upon opening the first kit, I found that the threaded ends of the product I was working on were damaged and I would not be able to thread anything onto them… I’d have to send them back.  Ok, so, on to the next item… these were damaged too.  They were severely bent.  Getting a little frustrated I moved on to yet another kit in the box that I wasn’t planning on getting to for a few more days.  Turns out, I need some special tools for this project.  I need a beading needle-nose plier, which naturally, I don’t have.  In addition, the directions that come with this kit are seriously lacking.  What the heck is a charm loop?  Going to have to Google that one.  I have several kits that require the pliers so I moved on to my last but not least kit… and this one requires a special type of glue.  I just couldn’t win.  About this time the hubs came into my office and asked me how things were going.  I told him that I was literally choking back tears because I was so irritated that things were not going according to plan.  He told me next week I should have a backup plan.  No kidding.

The good news is that even though I’m a planner, I don’t completely suck at improvisation.  There was another item sitting on my desk that I’ve been working on off and on for the last few days and I decided to go ahead and finish that up and blog about it instead.  Things still didn’t quite go as planned, but it wasn’t a complete disaster.

Pick another checkout lane honey!  This is the motto of the Krazy coupon lady (see thekrazycouponlady.com).  If you’re a couponer, or aspiring couponer, you definitely should know about this website.  This lady tells you everything you need to know about deals and breaks them down by store (i.e. CVS, Walmart, Kroger, etc).  She even tells you where to find additional coupons to lower the price on deals individual stores are having.  It’s really cool and takes a lot of the work and the guess work out of couponing by yourself.  Now, I’m not a completely bananas-crazy couponer.  I’m not that person who goes to the store and buys 99 sticks of deodorant and pays $0.05.  I have no clue how those people do that, or get away with it.  I do on the other hand like a good deal and love it when I don’t pay full retail price for something.  So, on this lady’s website she has a section for beginners, or Coupon Virgins.  Included in this section is “how to start your coupon binder.”  Now, I’m by no means a Coupon Virgin, I popped that cherry a loooong time ago.  However, I have never had any real method for keeping my coupons organized.  The food-type ones are organized by expiration date and attached to my freezer with a heavy duty magnet whereas the retail and restaurant coupons are upstairs in a manila folder on my desk labeled “coupons” (original huh?).  This is all fine and dandy until I’m out of the house doing some shopping and get the nibbles and realize my coupons are at the house, not in my car.  So, I decided to create myself a coupon binder using the template she provided.  So far, so good.  I put it in my car this morning and am quite happy with it.  Naturally I ran out of baseball card holders (read the website people) and sheet protectors and will have to go to Office Depot to pick up more but guess what?  I know EXACTLY where my coupon for Office Depot is AND it’s in my car.

One response to ““It pays to plan ahead. It wasn’t raining when Noah built the ark.”

  1. Pingback: Recipe review: Fuss-Free Ravioli and Cheese Bake « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

