The time to relax is when you don’t have time for it. ~Attributed to both Jim Goodwin and Sydney J. Harris

Like most of the women I know I am usually going 90-to-nothing all the time.  I don’t rest well and even when I do, my mind is churning away like a crack-enhanced gerbil on a wheel.  I just don’t know how to turn it off.  This week, I have found myself stressed and frustrated and for no real reason.  Let’s face it, damaged craft items should not be able to reduce me to tears (see previous post).  When I came home from work last night the hubs and I were supposed to go out shopping for my improvement-of-the-day.  I was so exhausted I admitted to him I just couldn’t.  Could we please just do it tomorrow?  He looked at me strangely and said “of course love.”  We went out for a very quick dinner where I nearly fell asleep in my quesadillas and then came home.  I slept twelve hours last night.  My body and my mind were just exhausted.  I felt guilty because I didn’t get my improvement done, and it was a really important one that I really wanted to do.  This morning though I woke feeling refreshed and although I still feel like I could take a nap, I am capable of holding myself upright without fear of toppling over.

So today, Lord willing, I will complete the improvement I’d intending on doing yesterday.  I will try to do it with the realization that it’s ok to take a break from time to time.  Even NASCAR drivers have to make pit stops to get their tires changed so why should it be any different in real life?  From time to time, we all need to recharge our batteries.  Perhaps I’ll sleep another twelve hours tonight or take a long luxurious bubble bath… it really doesn’t matter.  The point is that it’s ok.  It’s ok if for once in a blue moon something doesn’t get done on time and instead of taking care of the plethora of things that plague my mind, I take care of myself instead.

Leave a Reply

