People say that losing weight is no walk in the park. When I hear that I think, yeah, that’s the problem. ~Chris Adams

So it’s been a somewhat unproductive and improvement-less couple of days.  Last week as I mentioned I started a very tedious project that I’m still not finished with.  Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t just been sitting on my butt eating bon-bons or anything.  Last week was my birthday and between family, friends, and husband I got to celebrate for three days straight.  Lucky girl! 

Yesterday I sat with my mom through a meeting about Medicare.  Let me just say upfront that I’m seriously glad that I’m not at an age where Medicare really matters to me (other than the fact that it affects my parental units).  Talk about confusing!  I think we made some headway though and made some decisions that are, Lord willing, the right ones. 

Today I’m starting an ongoing improvement with my friend G from work.  We’re going to start walking after work once a week (at least to start off).  There’s a really nice park not far from our office with a paved 3 mile trail.  Today is the first day that we’re going to walk and I’m excited.  We were planning on walking yesterday except I had to go to the Medicare meeting so we had to postpone until today.  I had my workout bag packed and in my car Sunday morning so I am ready to go whenever we CAN go.  I’m looking forward to walking and getting in a habit of doing something physical.  I’ve been looking online at boot camp classes but I know me well enough to know that when it comes to working out I have a bad habit of diving in head first, getting injured or so sore I literally can’t get out of bed, and then I give up.  So, I’m not going to do that this time.  We’re going to start with walking, then maybe a class or two at the YMCA and work our way up from there.  I’m even debating going back on Weight Watchers.  It’s worked for me before but I get seriously tired of counting points and/or eating the same thing over and over because I don’t want to count points.  While I haven’t made any decision on the diet side at least today I’ll get up and moving and sweating.  Whoever said “girls don’t sweat, they glisten” never met me!  So, while I have no delusions that walking once a week even for several miles is going to make me thin, at least it will “train my brain” as they say.  I’ve heard it takes six weeks to form a habit, whether that’s true or not who knows but hopefully in six weeks I’ll be used to walking and maybe even ready to “up” it to twice a week or add in a group fitness class of some kind.  Slow and steady right?  So I’m off to strap on my walking shoes and get started.  Wish me luck!

One response to “People say that losing weight is no walk in the park. When I hear that I think, yeah, that’s the problem. ~Chris Adams

  1. Gerri Horton

    YEAH! We did it! And you’re not even sore!!! Can’t wait till next week!

Leave a comment