Life is like a coin. You can spend it any way you wish, but you only spend it once. ~Lillian Dickson

Last night I had another girls night out with my friend G from work.  We went to the Holiday Card Showcase at Archivers (it’s the scrapbooking place I mentioned a few posts ago).  While really interesting, it was a bit overwhelming for a card-making virgin like myself.  There were lots of talks about tools and materials and brands and designers… very few of which I’d ever heard of.  We saw lots of different cards and “learned” (in a seriously rough sense) how to make them or at least what was used to make them.  I left feeling a little confused but I still thoroughly enjoyed my time.  I actually managed to keep myself from buying anything even though they were having a great sale.  I told myself I couldn’t buy any more scrapbooking materials until I actually scrapbook some pages!  So there! 

The biggest change/improvement/step forward that happened yesterday isn’t mine, but I’m going to share it with you anyways.  Yesterday was my mom’s last full-time day of work.  Today, she begins her partial retirement (she’s going to start working part time).  She had wanted to completely retire in December but when she told her boss they told her no.  Both her boss and the owner/CEO of the company told my mom that she couldn’t leave them.  They had to have her there.  How cool is that?  So, she’s slowly taking more and more time off until December when she will go down to working three days a week.  Her boss and the CEO are fine with this, as long as she stays.  I think that’s amazing.  I’m so proud of my mom for 1, sticking it out all these years (she’s been working since she was 15 or thereabouts) and 2, for being such an amazing employee that her supervisors are begging her to stay.  What a role model.  Congratulations mom, you deserve it!

One response to “Life is like a coin. You can spend it any way you wish, but you only spend it once. ~Lillian Dickson

  1. Heather Peña

    Love that woman!

Leave a Reply

