He who limps is still walking. ~Stanislaw J. Lec

I found this quote and just had to giggle because it’s so accurate.  Yesterday was walking day with my friend G from work.  As I mentioned in a previous post we’re trying to walk once a week right now.  We did another three miles and it took us about an hour.  We weren’t nearly as tired as we were last week although I think that has more to do with the 15 degree drop in temperature (it was over 100 degrees last week).  I was actually really proud of us yesterday because we managed to keep relatively the same speed even though I was nursing a very sore blister on my left foot.  At first, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to walk yesterday at all.  Then, I decided if worse came to worse I’d just lose the left shoe and walk in my socks instead.  As chance would have it, I didn’t have to.  I managed to get enough bandaid padding on the blister that it didn’t hurt too badly to walk with my shoes on.  I do remember telling G at some point that I had some weird twinges in my right leg due to the fact that I was favoring my left.  Today, my right knee is sore (it’s my bad knee anyways) and it wasn’t sore last week so I can only assume it’s from hobbling during our walk yesterday.  Nonetheless, I’m proud of us.  We made it, blisters and limps and all!

Leave a Reply

