“Fitness – if it came in a bottle, everybody would have a great body.” ~Cher

On Saturday I got together with some girlfriends to celebrate my friend E’s upcoming wedding – that’s right… we had ourselves a bachelorette party!   We checked in to this beautiful hotel around 3pm, hung out and chit-chatted for a while, got dressed, went to RA Sushi for some great food (even good food for those non-sushi eaters like myself), went to the MonnaLisa bar and listened to a really good band and then went back up to the room for more chit-chat.  It was a great time and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. 

I am very lucky to have wonderful girlfriends in my life.  My three besties, E, J, and G are just amazing women inside and out.  However, have you ever heard the prayer “God, if you can’t make me skinny then please make my girlfriends fat?”  Well, not that I would ever actually wish for that, but it definitely didn’t happen in my life.  All three of these incredible women are skinny and beautiful.  Now, once I get over the jealousy, I realize that it’s a good thing… it inspires me to make healthier decisions when I look at them. 

Unfortunately, I find that sometimes my inspiration follows after the overwhelming feelings of disgust.  For example, while getting ready on Saturday for the bachelorette party I’m looking in the mirror at my friends E and A who are getting ready with me and finding myself depressed.  They’re both skinny, tiny, beautiful women, and I feel like a blob next to them.  Now, I know I’m being harder on myself than I deserve but still, that’s how I felt in the moment.  I feel the need to point out that my friends have never, not once, said anything to me to make me feel this way.  I don’t have toxic friendships.  Somedays, I’m toxic enough for myself.  Anyways, I found myself texting my husband during dinner saying “tell me you love me!” just because I needed some reassurance.  I hate feeling that way.  So, I have yet again reached a point where I’m frustrated with myself and ready to do something about it. 

The first good decision I made was lunch yesterday.  I didn’t have time to pack my lunch Sunday (mainly due to sheer exhaustion) so I decided to order from Jason’s Deli.  Now, I absolutely love broccoli cheese soup and usually when I order from there I get their ¼ turkey muffaletta with a cup of broccoli cheese soup.  Jason’s Deli is the only place I’ve ever found that makes a good turkey muffaletta (at least when I’m not in New Orleans).  Let’s just be clear about this though… the ¼ turkey muffaletta alone is 740 calories, the cup of broccoli cheese soup is 226 calories, and it comes with chips which are 240 calories.  That’s 1,206 calories in one meal!  No wonder I’m overweight!  So, in an effort to change my ways I decided that as yummy as those things are, I was going to do better.  Instead, I ordered the Mediterranean Wrap (320 calories) which comes with a serving of fruit (89 calories) and I had a bowl of Campbells Chunky Savory Vegetable Soup (220 calories) later in the day.  That comes to 629 calories instead (a “savings” of 577 calories) AND I wasn’t even hungry after my three mile walk (normally I’m starving).  I got in way more nutrients and a lot less carbs too.  It’s a very small change, but I’m still really proud of it.  Now I just have to keep it up.

In addition to small eating changes, my friend G (different G than the G mentioned earlier btw) and I have been walking after work one day a week.  I’ve blogged about this before so if you haven’t kept up, go back and read the previous blogs.  We’re still at 3-miles per hour.  Yesterday it really felt like we were walking a lot faster than usual but our time was still the same.  I was a bit disappointed with that.  I am definitely wishing I had an app/internet capable phone so that I could track our walks and see if our times really are getting better or staying the same.  We’ve been talking about when we’re going to “up” our walking to more than one day a week and if I’m being honest, I’ve been putting up some resistance.  Partly, it’s because the walking makes me tired and when I get home, I’m useless.  I just want to shower and go to sleep.  However, it’s also because I’ve gotten comfortable with being lazy.  Shame on me.  However, after making the healthy lunch decision I got to thinking about how much weight we could possibly lose by walking one day a week.  If you’ll remember back when this whole walking thing started I said that I have no illusions that we’ll get skinny walking one day a week.  I still believe this is true so I decided to do the math.  We should burn approximately 500 calories at the rate we’re going (3-miles per hour) which means that in a year, we’ll burn 26,000 calories.  That might sound like a lot but it’s not, it’s 7 pounds.  That sort of bummed me out to be completely honest.  So, we’ve decided we’re really going to push ourselves.  Starting in November we’re going to begin the “Couch to 5k” program.  Over the course of the next 32 weeks we’ll be training for this goal.  I’m sure to those of you out there who are in shape it might seem ridiculous that we need 32 weeks to be able to run 5 miles but considering that I have a seriously bad knee and G and I are way out of shape, I think it’s best that we take things slowly.  Hopefully this will prevent injuries as well as burn-out.  It’s going to be a huge change considering we’re at one day a week now and we’re about to up it to four days a week for the first four weeks and then go down to three days a week for six weeks and then back up to four and five days a week for the remaining month or so.  That’s a lot of working out.  Hopefully, it’ll be second nature by then.  I can only hope.

One response to ““Fitness – if it came in a bottle, everybody would have a great body.” ~Cher

  1. Pingback: Fitness Update | Changing My Marbles

Leave a Reply

