You don’t drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there. ~ Author Unknown

I have absolutely no idea what we did (or didn’t) do on Friday night. 

Saturday we got up early and went to the Peddler Show in Rosenberg.  Having never been before I wasn’t really sure what to expect but all in all I’d say it met my expectations.  We got some super cute Christmas stuff for very reasonable prices and we purchased some really interesting pasta that I can’t wait to try.  They’re pastas that are made already flavored.  All you have to do is cook them, add some olive oil and maybe a little parmesan cheese, and eat.  Should be an experience if nothing else.  I’m not sure I’d go every year or anything but it’s something fun to do on a Saturday morning every few years or so.  Afterwards, we went back to Sugar Land and had lunch at Café Adobe.  When the hubs said he wanted Mexican food I was a little surprised at first since he rarely ever wants to eat Mexican.  I was also a little concerned because I’ve been trying to eat healthier and the first thought that popped in my head when he said Mexican food was NACHOS!  … definitely not a healthy food item.  So when we arrived at the restaurant and I started looking through the menu I checked the soup and salad section.  I love tortilla soup but I only like it when there’s no chicken in it.  Very few places actually serve it that way.  Unfortunately, Café Adobe is one of those places that only offers it with chicken.  Fortunately, they have another soup on the menu though that sounded delicious.  It’s called Roasted Poblano Corn Chowder.  I had thought I was going to order chicken fajitas until I read that.  Since the hubs didn’t want to share fajitas with me, that was just going to be too much food.  So, I decided to get their soup & salad combo.  You get your choice of soup, a salad, and one “Mexican item” (i.e. a taco or enchilada).  I decided on a cup of the corn chowder, the house salad with dressing on the side, and a ground beef taco.  It was delicious, AND waaaay healthier than the nachos which originally called my name.  I got some protein, carbs, and vegis – and all in about equal portions.  I know it sounds strange but I’m actually proud of myself for this choice.  It’s a sign that I’m headed in the right direction.  Afterwards we went to Texas Running Company to get me new shoes for the Couch to 5k that starts this week.  Actually I bought my last pair of workout shoes there and was so happy with the process that I will probably buy my workout shoes from them until they go out of business or we move.  I have back problems and a totally effed up right knee.  Having the right shoes makes all the difference in the world.  The first time I went in they had me walk and do a light jog on a treadmill while they videotaped my feet.  Then, they played it back in super slow-mo to see how I rotated my feet.  They determine if you’re a pronator (rotate your feet inward), supernator (rotate your feet outward) or neutral.  I’m what’s called an overpronator which occurs when there is too much roll on the inside of the foot, consequently distributing the weight and shock of impact more heavily on the inside of the foot rather than evenly throughout the foot (per their website).  Having shoes that correct this problem has significantly reduced the amount of pain I get in my back and knee when I work out.  However, the shoes I originally purchased were starting to rub blisters which means that they’re officially stretched out and it’s time for new ones.  So, I now have new shoes and a workout watch which I went and bought at Target.  Afterwards we went to Kroger to do our grocery shopping for the week and then headed home to unload all of our loot.  We spent Sunday hanging around the house reading for the first part of the day and then I finally got my lazy behind in gear and went out to start the first day of the 5k program.  Technically we’re supposed to walk Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and one weekend day this week.  However, due to scheduling problems G and I are only going to be able to walk together Monday and Wednesday this week and I likely won’t have a chance to get in a workout this coming weekend.  So, I decided to get a jump on the program and start my workout session a day early.  I took the pup with me and we set off from the house.  It’s about a 5 minute walk or thereabouts from my house to the neighborhood park and since the first 5 minutes are supposed to be spent doing a walking warm-up we used the walk for that purpose.  We walked at a natural pace for 5 minutes, jogged for 30 seconds and then walked at a fast pace for 5 minutes.  That was our entire warm-up.  For our workout we fast walked for 15 minutes and then did a slow 5 minute walk back to the house.  Once home, I stretched for about 5 minutes and that was that.  It was the first workout I’ve done alone in the last few months.  Every other time, I’ve been with my friend G.  I honestly couldn’t tell you if I kept the same pace that G and I usually keep on our walks but it was definitely harder to work out alone.  I find this funny because usually I’m all about working out alone.  Actually, I thought I preferred it that way.  But, when I look back on my past workout history I realize that I’m competitive enough that when there’s someone next to me I push just a little harder so that I can outdo them.  I remember doing this when I’d be at high school swim practice at some God forsaken hour of the morning.  Someone in the lane next to be would be swimming just a touch faster than I was and that would irritate me and I’d speed up.  So, perhaps I really do like working out with someone more than I thought I did.  I definitely work out harder that way.  Once home, I cooked dinner.  We had Lemon Roasted Chicken with Potatoes (thanks Martha Stewart) with Orzo Salad with White Beans.  I also made Macaroni Bean Soup for lunches for the week.  I’ve made the lemon chicken recipe before and it’s delicious.  The orzo salad turned out pretty good too, especially considering that I’m not much of a cold pasta salad person.  However, I did only use half of the dressing it called for which may have been the clencher since I’m not much of a dressing person.  I didn’t try the soup yet but it smelled amazing.  It’s full of protein rich kidney beans and yummy vegis like carrots and squash.  I didn’t have the macaroni it called for but I bought a bunch of pasta on close-out sale a few weeks ago so I subbed whole-wheat shells instead.  Definitely worth a try!  I love cooking soup on the weekends and freezing it for healthy lunches during the week.  Yum! 

I do feel as though my body is slowly starting to change physically.  Perhaps it’s all wishful thinking though.  The changes are minor but I really do think they’re there.  My legs from my knees down (basically my calves and ankles) are getting more toned.  Actually my husband is sort of teasing me about this because I already have really toned calves.  They’re super muscular from walking in heels all the freaking time.  And, I don’t have what I call ‘fat-people feet.’  Basically what this means is that my feet are skinny and bony (not fat or bloated).  There hasn’t been any change in my feet but I swear my ankles are smaller.  It may just feel that way since my calves are more toned though.  And, my boobs are shrinking.  Now normally this wouldn’t be a good thing but I always lose weight in my boobs first.  The funny thing about losing weight when you have a lot of weight to lose is that you lose it in stages.  Generally, you don’t lose it slowly all over.  Instead, you lose nearly all of it in one area first.  This means that I’ll likely lose the excess weight in my boobs first, then in my rib cage area, then in my thighs/butt, and lastly, in my tummy.  I will be really disproportionate for a while.  I’m so glad that the ends justify the means.  I’m also glad that I’m starting to see small changes already.  I’m avoiding the scale because it just generally depresses me but also because I don’t have some magic number that I’m aiming for.  I’m aiming for a look, not a weight.  I’m not even aiming for a pants size.  One of the prettiest girls I know told me the other day that she’s a size 10.  I was shocked!  She’s so tiny!  She looks healthy though and that’s the main thing.  She’s toned and doesn’t have any noticeable fat on her at all.  I could get to a size 10 and not look nearly as healthy as she does.  It’s not about pant size.  And again, it’s not about some magic weight.  150lbs could be the perfect weight for me and could be 50lbs overweight for another girl my height.  It’s a look I’m going for.  I want to look in the mirror and be happy with what I see there, not look away as quickly as humanly possible.  I could definitely use some self-esteem pick-me-ups this week because I’m lagging in that department significantly but I think that’s just part of the process.  I have a long way to go though so it’s too early to be feeling this way. 

 

If you’re interested in looking up the Couch to 5k program for yourself the website is: http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/Programs/conservative_program.htm

The recipe for the Lemon Roasted Chicken with Potatoes can be found here: http://www.marthastewart.com/312943/lemon-roasted-chicken-with-potatoes

The recipe for the Macaroni Bean Soup can be found here: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Macaroni-Bean-Soup

One response to “You don’t drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there. ~ Author Unknown

  1. Pingback: Anything above zero is progress « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

