One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story

This morning I thought I’d do things differently and write my blog first thing.  That way, I don’t have to worry about getting distracted.

Last night I tried a new dish called Baked Chicken and Rice with Black Beans.  I’m not a fan of the precooked chicken that you can buy in the grocery store near the lunch meat so I chose to defrost and bake my chicken the night before.  However, if you don’t mind the precooked and packaged chicken, you could definitely use it.  You could also probably use one of the rotisserie chickens that grocery stores carry these days.

Anyways, we made the dish exactly as the recipe says (ingredient wise) and it turned out fabulous.  However, I did mix in all of my cheese instead of leaving some to sprinkle on top. 

The link to the recipe is:
http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/baked-chicken-rice-with-black-beans-10000001873369/

The hubs said that this was going on his “favorite list” and that I should make it frequently.  If you used frozen vegetables (i.e. chopped bell pepper and chopped onion) it makes this a breeze.  The only chopping you have to do is the carrot – and that’s only half a cup!  Definitely an easy weeknight meal.

On another note, we had a concrete contractor come out last night to give us a bid on redoing our driveway.  It caved in on one side a while back due to the drought that we experienced.  It’s not pretty.  We can’t even use that side of the driveway (and therefore, that garage bay).  Hopefully we’ll be able to come up with the greenbacks to get it fixed.  Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

