Laughter is the shortest distance between two people. ~ Victor Borge

I am so incredibly lucky to have married someone who makes me laugh on a regular basis.  Yesterday when I was thinking about what I would be writing about for today’s blog, I thought I had it basically figured out.  That was until I got home and walked in on this:

 

My hero

My hero

That’s my husband ladies and gentlemen, and I love him and his silliness dearly.  See, the day before yesterday I needed 5 cups of onion chopped and I absolutely detest chopping onion.  It makes my eyes burn so bad that I cry so much I cannot see what I am doing (not a good thing when there’s a sharp knife in your hands).  So, I put my husband through that torture instead.  Actually, he doesn’t mind doing it and says he likes feeling helpful.  However, when I told him I needed 5 cups of chopped onion, he groaned (understandably so).  In a fit of genius I bolted up the stairs and came back down with my goggles that I use for swimming.  Now, I’m not going to lie, he looked ridiculous wearing them while chopping onion but he had nary an onion fume in his eyes while I, meanwhile, on the other side of the kitchen, was tearing up.  Then, last night I called him and said I was going walking and when he got home, I needed one more onion chopped.  When I finally got home I walked in the door and he was standing in the kitchen chopping the onion wearing the goggles again, and this time, a cape.  I totally cracked up.  It brought such joy to my rather ‘blah’ day.  I absolutely had to share this with you all because it’s just too freaking adorable. 

On another note, G and I walked our three miles again yesterday.  I have no idea why but I got my first ‘stitch’ in my side.  It was strange because we walked last week so it wasn’t as though my body wasn’t prepared, and we didn’t walk any faster than normal either.  Nonetheless, it took hold and held on for about the first mile and a half and then finally subsided only to be replaced by some wacko pain in the toes on my left foot.  This morning, the toes are still sore.  I have no earthly idea what’s going on there.  Hopefully it’ll pass soon. 

Last night was also a baking night in our house.  It turns out that three people in my department have birthdays next week but they’re ALL on vacation.  Personally, I think birthdays are ignored in the work place all too often.  Long ago, I worked for a company where we went all out for birthdays.  I remember saran wrapping one girls cubicle and stuffing it with balloons.  We even foiled my bosses office (for those of you out of the loop, you take several rolls of aluminum foil and wrap it around EVERYTHING individually).  We also baked cakes and cupcakes or whatever for everyone’s birthdays.  It was fun.  Since I’m new here at the company I work for and it doesn’t appear so far that anyone else shares my birthday idea, I decided to tone it waaaay down and do something simple.  So, I baked cornbread.  Broccoli cheese cornbread to be exact.  If you want the recipe, it’s in a previous post somewhere.  I made one for us at home and three for my three coworkers with birthdays.  It took about 3 hours to get them all prepped and baked.  I’m exhausted today.  Hopefully though, it was worth it and they’ll enjoy.  I don’t even know if they like cornbread but it’s the gesture that counts right?

Leave a Reply

