My granddaughter came to spend a few weeks with me, and I decided to teach her to sew. After I had gone through a lengthy explanation of how to thread the machine, she stepped back, put her hands on her hips, and said in disbelief, “You mean you can do all that, but you can’t play my Game Boy?” ~Author Unknown

Yesterday was a milestone for me.  You see, for Christmas 2010 I asked for this super-nifty Brother sewing machine. I  researched for weeks to figure out which model I wanted and Santa (or my mom) gave me just what I wanted.  I was soooo happy to see it sitting there by the fireplace Christmas morning.  Can you guess what happened next?  Nothing, absolutely nothing.  You see, I wanted the sewing machine because I thought that seeing it would somehow give me the courage to learn to sew.  I really want to sew.  I’ve wanted to learn to sew for a long time. However, my poor sewing machine sat, in its box, totally unopened, for over a year.  I’m sure the poor thing has abandonment issues. 

Anyways, enter Christmas 2011… I don’t know about the rest of you but I’m at the age where my parents just ask me what I want for Christmas instead of guessing.  There’s not much surprise come Christmas morning, but it’s nice to get something you actually want instead of some random, weird contraption that you’ll probably never use.  So, this year for Christmas I requested gift cards to Joann’s.  If you’re not familiar, Joann’s is a fabric/crafting store (kind of like Hobby Lobby or Michael’s but with a focus on fabric crafts).  I knew that they offered sewing classes and being the broke girl that I am, I knew the only way I’d ever pay for them was to get a gift card.  So, thanks to various family members (and a 1/2-off classes sale), I took my gift cards with me to Joann’s a few weeks ago and bought five sewing classes. 

Yesterday I took Intro to Sewing.  I learned how to fill a bobbin (considering I didn’t even know what a bobbin was before this I’m pretty happy), how to thread my machine, and how to make a straight stitch.  Actually, with the help of an extremely patient instructor and the girl next to me who seemed to already know what she was doing, I managed not to break the machine or stitch the fabric to my finger.  All in all, a pretty productive day.  AND, my instructor even complemented my machine.  She said it was a good one.  So go me for researching and picking a good one! 

Today, however, I’m taking Sewing 102: Sew a Simple Top…  Simple Top my ass.  In yesterdays class there was a sample of the top from today’s class hanging on the wall.  I’m looking at it off and on throughout the entire class thinking YEAH RIGHT!  So, I’m a little freaked, and not entirely sure I’m ready to tackle that kind of project just yet, but I’m gonna try.  At least there will be an instructor there to un-snarl my machine when it needs it.

Leave a Reply

