Blog-o-randomness

MOISTURIZER

Several people I know are searching for a good facial moisturizer.  I searched for one for years (about 15 of ‘em) until I read a magazine article from a lady who has crazy-sensitive skin like I do.  She recommended Neutrogena Oil-Free Moisturizer.   It’s only a couple of bucks so I figured, why the heck not?  I tried it, and I LOVE IT.  It doesn’t leave this heavy, greasy feel like most moisturizers do.  It sinks in right off the bat.  During the winter, I use it morning and night and during the summer, I just use it at night (since my skin is oiler then anyways).  It hasn’t made me break out, or made my skin red, raw, and bumpy like others have before.  I love it.  I love it.  I love it.  If you’re on the search for one, you should totally try it.  It rocks my socks, or, err, my face.  🙂

Side-note:  this moisturizer has zero SPF in it so if you’re going to be in the sun, you might want to try one of the ones with SPF.  As my pasty-whiteness generally avoids the sun, it’s a non-issue for me.

$$$:  I have several $2 off coupons for this stuff.  If you want to try it, just say the word and I’ll send a coupon your way (as long as I still have some).

 

 

WALKING:

If you’ve followed this blog you’ll remember that my friend G from work and I started out walking 3 miles 1-2 days a week, then we said we were going to start the Couch to 5k plan, and now, we haven’t walked together in over a month.  Honestly, my schedule is insane.  I have something going every weekend and at least 3-4 days during the week.  Still, I should be making more time to workout.  Shame on me.  Guess I’m going to have to start over again (didn’t I post several weeks/months ago about starting over… again?  I’m seeing a theme here). 

 

BLOG LAND:

I read a lot of blogs.  I mean, lots and lots of blogs.  Most of them are about crafts, food, or interior decorating… all those things that make my life complete. 

Anywho, sometimes those blogs I read are inspiring, sometimes they’re just freaking hysterical.  I thought I’d share some of both with you today J

http://www.thehouseofsmiths.com/2012/01/risk-my-2012-word-of-year.html

http://southyourmouth.blogspot.com/search/label/Random%20Crap

http://www.theartofdoingstuff.com/i-love-you-so-much-you-make-me-sick/

Seriously, they’re totally worth the time to read.  You might want to get some tissues though because I laughed so hard I cried.  Oh, and don’t attempt to eat or drink anything while reading, these are a choking hazard!

 

TV DINNERS

I’m not usually a TV dinner type person because 1, I think they’re full of waaaaay to many preservatives and chemicals and 2, they usually taste like cardboard (especially the meat).  However, from time to time when I have a coupon AND things are on sale, I’ll bite the bullet and take a risk.  This weekend, Lean Cuisines were on sale at Kroger 5 for $10.  I also had a coupon for buy 5 get $1 off.  So, for $9, I have lunch for the week to pair with a bowl of soup (that was made over NYE weekend and frozen).  I figured it was worth the risk.  L.C. has some new varieties out and I decided to try some.  Yesterday I had their Fajita-style Chicken Spring Rolls.  It’s marketed as a snack item and contains 2 servings.  I ate both servings as one lunch instead of two snacks.  Anyways, I microwaved them a bit too long so they were a little burnt and overly crunchy but the taste was pretty good.  Today, I had their Garlic Chicken Spring Rolls (same concept, different flavor) and I microwaved them not quiet long enough so they weren’t as crispy as I would have liked but the flavor was delish!  They definitely get a thumbs up for that one. 

 

MOBILE PHONE

I don’t know if any of this information is true and I have not as of yet attempted to verify any of it.  However, I received this email today from a friend and if it is true, this is super-useful info to have!

4 Things you might not have known about your Cell Phone

FIRST   (Emergency) 

The Emergency Number worldwide for Mobile is 112. If you find yourself out of the coverage
area of your mobile network and there is an Emergency, dial 112 and the mobile will search any
existing network to establish the emergency number for you, and interestingly, this number 112
can be dialed even if the keypad is locked. Try it out.

 

SECOND   (Hidden  Battery   Power)

 Imagine your cell battery is very low. To activate, press the keys *3370#. Your cell phone will
restart with this reserve and the instrument will show a 50% increase in battery. This reserve will
get charged when you charge your cell phone next time.

 

THIRD   (How to disable a STOLEN mobile phone? )

To check your Mobile phone’s serial number, key in the following Digits on your phone:   *#06#.   
A 15-digit code will appear on the screen. This number is unique to your handset.
 Write it down and keep it somewhere safe.

 

If your phone is stolen, you can phone your service provider and give them this code. They will then
be able to block your handset so even if the thief changes the SIM card, your phone will be totally
useless. You probably won’t get your phone back, but at least you know that whoever stole it can’t
use/sell it either. If everybody does this, there would be no point in people stealing mobile phones.

 FOURTH   (Free Directory Service for Cells) 

Cell phone companies are charging us $1.00 to $1.75 or more for 411 information calls when they don’t
have to. Most of us do not carry a telephone directory in our vehicle, which makes this situation even
more of a problem. When you need to use the 411 information option, simply dial:


(800) FREE411   
or (800) 373-3411      

without incurring any charge at all.  Program this into your cell phone now. This is sponsored by McDonalds.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

