“Home is where the house is.” – Unknown

I am just not having an outstanding day. It was kind of a depressing weekend all around. I got up earrrrly Saturday morning and was greeted by a torrential downpour. I had to be at volunteer orientation for the City of Sugar Land’s Animal Service department at 8:00am sharp so I headed out in the monsoon. I very nearly flooded out my car while attempting to leave our subdivision. I didn’t know that my Jeep could float… apparently it can. Scary stuff. Anyways, orientation went well. When you’ve worked for animal services (in my case, the Humane Society) before, all of the orientations from that point forward are basically the same. In a weird way, it’s comfortable. I understand exactly what I’m supposed to do and how to do it. I’m excited I’m getting back into it. I got tickled at one girl who couldn’t even look in the trash can at old thrown away food. Boy is she in for a surprise. Something tells me she’ll only make it a few weeks, if that. Afterwards I came home and mom & the hubs and I went to run a few errands. I came home, showered, and went to a funeral. The funeral was for a friend of mine’s 5-year-old granddaughter who died suddenly last Sunday. I didn’t know the little girl or her mom and dad for that matter, but my good friend was (understandably) distraught and I wanted to be there for her. So, I went. And it was sad. And I cried. And I cried some more. My plan is to do a whole post about this later but I’m just not up to it right now. I was supposed to go to a sewing class afterwards but I rescheduled. I just wanted some quiet time. Sunday I missed church due to sleeping through my alarm clock. I didn’t wake up until church was over. That’s what happens when you combine late nights w/ pain pills (my clumsy self had an accident at the grave site). So, instead of church the hubs and I went to go see the new Underworld movie. It’s good. Sorta. I mean, it was good, but it was soooo open ended and basically only spanned about a 48 hour time period so I felt like there was a lot missing. I’m also a little erked that the lycans don’t look the same. Call me weird, but I think that if you’re going to do a sequel, the animated / CGI items should look the same in alllll of the movies. Then it was off to Kroger for our weekly shopping trip that took longer than I really wanted it to due to an ankle brace and limping (see the afore-mentioned accident). Once home, the hubs and I putzed around and lazed around and eventually watched the Super Bowl. I didn’t have a particularly vested interest in the game, I’m not really an NFL fan (bring on the college ball!). However, it was a good game. I don’t like it when they’re shut outs and this one definitely wasn’t. Gotta say the hubs and I both called the Giants as the winners within the first quarter. The commercials were cute although I wasn’t just blown away by any of them. I did like the Coca-Cola polar bears (perhaps I’m biased?). Afterwards we FINALLY got to what I’d really been waiting for… The Voice. I’m excited for this year. I’m really excited for today. I heard a snippet on a preview of today’s show that gave me goosebumbs like Javier Cologne did last year. Bring it.

So I’m sure none of that sounds particularly upsetting or depressing (except the funeral of course) but the really bummer part of my weekend is this… the realization that the hubs and I probably aren’t going to get the house that we really really really want. You see, we looked at houses about 2 to 3 weeks ago and fell in love. It’s a new community kind of near where we currently live and they’re all new houses. We weren’t really looking for a new house but someone recommended it to us so we went to take a look and fell in love. The house isn’t unreasonable or anything… about 135k. I’d say that’s right up our alley for a starter house. So, we put in the pre-approval paperwork for a mortgage. If we put down 10k and pay the approximate $3,500 in closing costs, then we’re approved. However, it would put the mortgage payment at about $200 more a month than we really wanted it to be at. Solution? Pay off our two cars. So, that’s the plan… but to get the plan to actually work it means that the hubs and I have to come up with about 20k. That’s no easy feat. Solution? Live like we’re on welfare and take on second jobs. So, I’ve been interviewing and the hubs is getting side jobs from work. It’s a process, but we’re on our way. This weekend though, we hit a snag. You see, what prompted this entire thing is that mom has decided to put her house up for sale. I’m happy for her. I think she needed to do this ten years ago, but better late than never right? That being said, she wants to put the house up for sale in April and I have a feeling that it’s going to sell fast. If I’m right, that means we’ll have to be out by May-ish. There’s no way that hubs and I will have 20k by May. So, that means that we’ll be in an apartment. Based off of previous experience from the first (and only) apartment that hubs and I shared together, that will increase our ‘outgoing’ money by at LEAST $500 a month minimum. That means, over the course of the next 6 months to 1 year (the time-frame we were planning on) we’ll have more money going out and therefore be saving less which means that our dream of a house is even farther away. Don’t get me wrong, I know we’ll get there… someday (although I feel like it’ll be in 20 years right about now) and I know that ‘everything happens for a reason’ and all that jazz. It doesn’t make me feel better though. Right now, I feel like I’m watching my dream house slip through my fingers and there’s not a damn thing I can do to stop it (unless someone wants to loan me 20k… any takers?). If we don’t get the house then hopefully someday when the timing is right something better will come along and I’ll feel ok about not getting the house. Right now though? Not so much.

One response to ““Home is where the house is.” – Unknown

  1. Alicia Simmons

    First thing I want to say, is there is no reason to rush into buying a house. 🙂 Its a lot of upkeep. And when shit goes wrong, its allllll you buddy. Spent $600 bucks on the A/C this weekend. This was the third repair in 4 years. Then, there are hurricanes. Let’s not even go there. When Ahren and I sell this house, we are very much looking forward to renting a house for a few years. We were SO not ready for the responsibility of a house.

    I’m not saying that you shouldn’t be bummed that you have to wait on a house. I’m just saying don’t feel like you have to rush 🙂

    Second thing – I’m about 99% certain my uncle loans money. I know that statement probably sounds shady. He is very honest and trustworthy. My understanding is that he will loan money at a lower interest rate than banks will. I can find out more info if you are interested, just let me know. 🙂

    Hang in there my friend.

Leave a Reply

