Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart. ~Kahlil Gibran

I love sharing the elevator with people who are attempting to silently check each other out.  It just cracks me up.  As I mentioned in a previous post I work in an office with a bunch of good looking people.  Most of those really good looking people are women but we do have a few handsome men wandering around.  Today, I shared an elevator with a cute leggy blond girl and this very attractive blond-haired, blue-eyed guy who works on my floor.  I’ve been here 8 months but I’ve never seen her before.  They must have had a run in before because they were chatting each other up and batting eyelashes at each other.  It was kind of funny.  I got off the elevator giggling at the two of them but then was overcome with a feeling of sadness.  That cute guy?  We work on the same floor, in the same DEPARTMENT, and he’s never said boo to me.  There’s another guy on my floor who I pass on a daily basis who won’t even make eye contact with me, but when the new cute-as-a-button girl was hired and sits caddie corner to me you bet your sweet bippie he was over there chatting her up within no time.  Don’t get me wrong, I married and happily so.  I think my husband is sexy.  I’m not looking for someone to hit on me.  I am, however, looking to be treated as a person.  It’s not just me either.  Another friend of mine who works here is a plus-size girl too and the guys treat her the same way.  It’s like, because we’re not skinny, we’re not even worth acknowledging.  It’s strange that it should hurt my feelings so much, but it does.  Fat people need love too you know.  I guess I should learn from this.  I should remember to do my best to acknowledge that what’s on the outside is not necessarily what’s on the inside.  And vice versa.

Leave a Reply

