“A minister asked a little boy how to get to the Post Office. After the little boy told him, the minister said, Why don’t you come to church tonight? I’m giving instructions on how to get to heaven. After thinking a minute, the boy replied, I don’t think so. You don’t even know how to get to the Post Office.” ~ Unknown

What a fun afternoon I had Wednesday.

 I left work to go to the post office to mail off my Craft Hope bags.  I’m a terrible picture taker but I promise they were really cute even though the pictures don’t really show how adorable they were.  I had originally intended on making 2, one for a boy and one for a girl.  Then I decided to make 4, two for boys and two for girls, then I went to Joann’s and found some fabric in the remnant bin that was really cute and decided to make 6, three for boys and three for girls (are we seeing a trend here?).  Then life got in the way what with working 2 jobs and trying to still maintain our ‘normal’ life and I ended up only getting 3 bags done.  So, that’s 1 more than my original goal, 1 less than my first modified goal and half of my second modified goal.  Do I care that I didn’t make 6 bags?  Nope.  I made three, they rock, and they’re going to a good cause.  So go me.  I made one Rocker Bag with some nifty electric guitar fabric I found and added a pocket that’s lined with metal stud trim.  I made a Monster Bag with what is my favorite fabric of the three and added a pocket with an embroidered monster on it.  Last but not least I made a Pink Skulls bag (which my mom hates but I think a teenager will love) and added a pocket with an embroidered pink skull and crossbones.  All in all I’m really proud of myself.  I made one bag via the pattern I was using, didn’t like it, and decided to change it (and my wonderful hubs was nice enough to seam rip the entire thing for me).  So, I decided to line it (with felt) and add a pocket… neither of which were on the pattern.  Everything turned out good and I actually created three functional and attractive kids bags WITH POCKETS!  Whoo hoo!  I hope that there are some wonderful pediatric cancer patients out there who love them. 

While I was at the post office mailing the Craft Hope bags I also mailed some Easter goodies to my nephews in Guam and mailed some cards to some friends.  I love sending random gifts to people.  It makes me happy.  So keep your eye out, it may have just been YOU!

Afterwards I went to get a pedicure.  I usually get one every three weeks but I’ve been so exhausted on the weekends from working 2 jobs that I missed my last appointment which means it’s been 6 weeks since the last one I had.  My toes were looking pretty gnarly.  They even had to use a cheese grater on the bottoms of my feet for the calluses.  Parmesan cheese anyone?  (gross, I know)  Anywho, while I was there I got to chatting with the nail tech about this ‘new’ (more like new-to-me) manicure that everyone is talking about… the Shellac manicure.  Turns out the nail place I go to has been doing it for about a year and a half and I’m just oblivious.  So, I decided to try it.  The premise behind it is that the color is painted on (like a regular manicure would be) and then your nails cure under a UV lamp.  After a few minutes, they’re rock hard which is fantastic because you don’t have to worry about messing up the manicure when you’re trying to get your checkbook out of your purse to pay for said manicure.  Supposedly it’ll last for at least 2 weeks, chip-free.  I NEVER paint my nails because they chip within the first 24 hours and that just irritates the poop out of me.  A chip-free manicure that isn’t acrylic and damaging?  Bring it.  So, my plan is to wait to form a judgment until 3 weeks have passed and I go to get another pedicure.  If they still look pretty good after 3 weeks, then I’ll probably get it done again.  What I will say is that it takes a very skilled technician to do it right.  It’s not normal nail polish, it’s more like a gel and it goes on kinda wonky so it takes someone who knows what they’re doing to get it to go on smoothly.  I’m not so sure that my girl was skilled enough.  If I have it done again, I’ll ask for a different technician.  However, the hubs repeatedly told me how sexy it was to see my nails painted.  I don’t think they’ve ever been painted in the entirety of our relationship… not even for our wedding.  So that was kinda cool. 

I got home about 7pm and the hubs was at the neighbor’s house helping install a new water heater.  Apparently theirs up and died on them a few days ago.  He got done a little after 8 and we sat in the living room and watched my favorite show (Criminal Minds).  All in all, it was a very nice afternoon. 

3 responses to ““A minister asked a little boy how to get to the Post Office. After the little boy told him, the minister said, Why don’t you come to church tonight? I’m giving instructions on how to get to heaven. After thinking a minute, the boy replied, I don’t think so. You don’t even know how to get to the Post Office.” ~ Unknown

  1. Pingback: Review: Shellac Manicure « changingmymarbles

  2. Pingback: Sewing fills my days, not to mention the living room, bedroom, and closets. ~ Author Unknown « changingmymarbles

  3. Pingback: How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world. ~ Anne Frank « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

