Makes me wanna grab you, honey, Tear down some two lane country, who knows, Get lost and get right with my soul, Makes me wanna take, makes me wanna take a back road ~ “Take a Back Road” by Rodney Atkins

Take a Back Road by Rodney Atkins

Sit in that six lane backed up traffic
Honks are honking, I’ve about had it
I’m looking for an exit sign
Gotta get out of here, get it all off my mind

And like a memory from your grandpa’s attic
A song comes slippin’ through the radio static
Changing my mood
A little George Strait 1982

And it makes me wanna take a back road
Makes me wanna take the long way home
Put a little gravel in my travel
Unwind, unravel all night long

Makes me wanna grab my honey
Tear down some two lane country, who knows
Get lost and get right with my soul
Makes me wanna take, makes me wanna take a back road

I’ve been cooked up, fried down, about forgotten
What a field looks like, full of corn and cotton
If I’m gonna hit a traffic jam
Well, it better be a tractor man

So sick and tired of this interstate system
I need a curvin’, windin’, twistin’
Dusty path to nowhere
With the wind blowing through my baby’s hair

Yeah, it makes me wanna take a back road
Makes me wanna take the long way home
Put a little gravel in my travel
Unwind, unravel all night long

Makes me wanna grab my honey
Tear down some two lane country, who knows
Get lost and get right with my soul
Makes me wanna take, makes me wanna take a back road
Some old back road

Maybe it’s the feeling or maybe it’s the freedom
Maybe it’s that shady spot
Where we park the truck when the things get hot
Girl, we park the truck when the things get hot

And it makes me wanna take a back road
Makes me wanna take the long way home
Put a little gravel in my travel
Unwind, unravel all night long

Makes me wanna grab you, honey
Tear down some two lane country, who knows
Get lost and get right with my soul
Makes me wanna take, makes me wanna take a back road

Some old back road, get back with my soul
And all I gotta do is take some old back road
To the shady spot where things get hot, girl
Way down, way down, way down some old back road

So you may or may not be a country music person but the hubs and I took a trip this weekend and it was just a country music sort of weekend so we listened to it in the car the whole time.  We heard this song on the way up there and totally agreed with every word.  I don’t think either of us realized how much we needed this weekend away to unwind from it all. 

I have some friends who are brothers (to each other) and basically like older adopted brothers to me.  My mom practically raised them through their teenage years and we’ve all remained really close.  I love them dearly.  Anyways, they’re members of a member-only campground up near Huntsville and we’ve gone up a few times to hang out with them (they all have RVs) and spend a weekend soaking up the fresh air and sunshine.  Usually, there’s a huge group of us (about 30+) because not only are they members but most of their friends are members too.  Most of the time it’s just one big party.  This time, however, with Spring Break being week before last, it was quiet and peaceful at the campground.  It was just the hubs and myself, and my two ‘adopted’ brothers (and the pup).  We arrived late in the evening Friday and chatted for a while and then crashed.  We were up bright and early Saturday morning and spent the day garage sale-ing in a local neighborhood.  The 5 of us (including the dog), loaded in our friends golf cart and spent the day looking for the next great deal.  The hubs and I picked up some books (as per usual) and I also picked up some nifty brass storks that will make great ring holders, some drawer pulls, and some awesome wrought iron owl trivets that are just freaking adorable.  I wish I’d had a camera with me (or even a working one on my phone) so I could have taken a picture of my pup in the golf cart.  She was SO CUTE!  I rode up front with one of my ‘brothers’ and the dog rode in between us.  After the first two hours or so she finally decided to lay down on the floor, rest her head on one of my feet and stick it half way out the side of the golf cart to get the wind in her face.  It was honesty a great pet-mom moment and I’ll probably remember it forever.  We had lunch at a ‘family biker bar’ that had great hamburgers and dinner at the local Mexican restaurant (which left a lot to be desired but it was really our own fault because we didn’t follow our hosts recommended menu suggestions).  That night we basically went to bed kind of early because we were all pretty tired from garage sale=ing all day and we were all a little sunburned too. 

Sunday we packed up and headed home pretty early.  Once home, the hubs and I unpacked and then headed out to run some errands.  We didn’t do much exciting stuff but we did pick up the necessary ingredients to make the BBQ Chicken Caesar salad for dinner and mmmmm was it good. 

All in all it was a fantastic weekend.  I came back rested, relaxed, and totally in head over heels love with my husband again.  I cannot wait for our next quiet weekend in the woods.

Leave a Reply

