“Anybody who doesn’t think that the best hamburger place in the world is in his home town is a sissy.” ~ Calvin Trillin

So after the portrait session  the hubs and I went to dinner at Smash Burger with my friend D and her husband.  It was great to get to see them and spend some one on one time with them which I don’t think we’ve done since sometime in the fall of last year.  Pretty sad when you figure we live only about thirty minutes apart.  Then again, her husband does travel for work a lot, so I’m just going to blame it on him!  (kidding)

Anywho, so has anyone ever been to Smash Burger and tried their Spicy Baja Burger?  That’s the  hubs’ favorite of favorite burgers.  It’s a burger (obviously) with pepper jack cheese, guacamole, lettuce, tomato, onion, spicy chipotle mayo and fresh jalapenos on a spicy chipotle bun.  The hubs says it’s AMAZING.  The very first time we went to SB he raved and raved and raved about that burger for DAYS!  (totally not kidding about this – food is totally the way to my hunny’s heart)  Weeks later we decided to have burgers at home and I decided to surprise him with a homemade version of the SB Spicy Baja Burger.  Basically everything I needed was easy to find… except the chipotle mayo.  So, I went on the hunt for the best recipe I could find.  Here’s what I found (I have no clue who as to the source of the recipe, if you know, please let me know so I can give them credit).

Chipotle Mayonaisse

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup mayonnaise (the hubs likes Helman’s but anything works)
  • 2 chipotles in adobo sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon adobo sauce
  • ½ lime, juice
  • Salt and black pepper

Directions:

  • Add all ingredients to a food processor and puree.   Season, to taste, with salt and pepper.

The hubs LOVED it and it kept well in an air tight jar for quite a while (several weeks).  I also used it with some grilled chicken wraps that I packed for his lunch.  It makes a tasty added zing for lots of things (haha, that rhymed). 

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

