Gardening requires lots of water – most of it in the form of perspiration. ~ Lou Erickson

After getting pampered for a little while on Saturday the hubs and I spent the rest of the day scouring Home Depot, Lowes, and Cornelius Nursery for the various items we needed to complete a landscaping project around our house.  Remember back in September of last year when I posted about removing some dangerous metal edging around one of our beds (as well as the weeds)?   Well, we also added about 10 bags of mulch to that bed in an attempt to keep the weeds from growing.  Good news:  we blocked the weeds.  Bad news:  we killed the tree.  The theory is that with the ridiculously hot summer plus the drought the tree was probably barely hanging on anyways… then we added 10 bags of heat-insulating mulch and essentially fried the roots.  Whoops.  Good thing is I hated the tree anyways.  Anywho, this weekend we decided it was time to rip that sucker out and replace it with a new tree and add some flowers to the bed underneath it.  Personally, I would have rather planted a creeping groundcover (less maintenance) but the hubs wanted annual flowers.  Considering the sunburn he got while planting them makes me wonder if he’s reevaluating that decision.  Nonetheless, we now have a pretty new tree and flowers.  Go us.  Let’s hope we don’t kill them this time. 

 
Dead tree but weed-free bed


Tree amputation


Pretty new tree (it’s called a Plum, Cherry ‘Krauter Vesuvius’ tree – it keeps those pretty dark red/maroon/plum colored leaves throughout the year and has delicate pink and white flowers in the spring)


Cute little annual flowers (we planted two yellow and orange varieties of marigolds, purple petunias, and super-bright-hot-pink-nearly-red celosia)


All together now


Before and after

 

Side note:  the hubs got severely sunburned because he didn’t put on sunscreen but make no mistake… I was out there sweating my butt off and covered in dirt right alongside him.

5 responses to “Gardening requires lots of water – most of it in the form of perspiration. ~ Lou Erickson

  1. Heather

    Aw! How pretty! Wish I still lived across the street so I could see it (and watch y’all do all the hard work). ha ha!

  2. HAHA – well I figure that I’ve been staring at Gloria’s gorgeous yard forever… it’s about time we return the favor!

  3. Pingback: My husband gave me a necklace. It’s fake. I requested fake. Maybe I’m paranoid, but in this day and age, I don’t want something around my neck that’s worth more than my head. ~ Rita Rudner « changingmymarbles

  4. Pingback: “Water is life’s mater and matrix, mother and medium. There is no life without water.” ~ Albert Szent-Gyorgyi « changingmymarbles

  5. Lisa Marie

    Looking at the hole your soil totally lacked nutrients. When you planted it originally you should have planted it with bagged manure and tree and shrub soil. Then every year take off the top layer of mulch and relocate it to the back yard or something. Then put some new tree and shrub with new mulch.

Leave a Reply

