Movie Review: 3:10 to Yuma

I don’t know if it’s really ‘fair’ for me to review this movie because I’m not really a western movie fan in the first place.  I also haven’t seen the original 3:10 to Yuma that this movie is a remake of.  However, I’m going to share with you anyway. 

As I’ve mentioned before my favorite movie reviewer (professional) is Jay Forry from Blindside Reviews.  Unfortunately, when I tried to look up his review of 3:10 it wouldn’t come up.  So, I went to the next source I could think of… Roger Ebert.  If you want to read his review click here

Basically, I thought this movie was ok.  Nothing spectacular, but nothing awful either.  I thought it was rather predictable except for the very end.  In fact, I’m not sure that the end is really in keeping with the way that the characters are portrayed throughout the movie.  You’d think that since I took a Philosophy of Film class in college that I’d have more to say on the movie but I honestly don’t.  I get what the writer was trying to do… the whole dichotomy of the human soul and all that.  It was portrayed well and the movie itself was directed well.  The special effects are believable (which I’m always a fan of).  I think the part for me that was frustrating is that there really wasn’t a single character that I really liked and was rooting for the whole time.  Ben Wade (Russell Crowe) is a full-on bad guy and Dan Evans (Christian Bale) who plays the good guy is just sort of a weenie.  He just irritated me too much for me to like him.  I also can’t really forget Christian Bale’s freak out during Terminator Salvation (not his first/last freak out by the way).  I think he’s just off his rocker.  Not that his possible psychotic-ness has anything to do with the movie.  

Anywho, I’m glad we Netflixed it if for no other reason than it’s one more movie out of my queue.  I wouldn’t buy it or watch it again though. 

What about you guys?  Have you seen it?  Did you like it?  Do you think Christian Bale is in need of serious anti-psychotic meds?

Leave a Reply

