Movie Review: Water for Elephants

I remember hearing a ton of hype about this movie and how amazing it was and blah blah blah when it first came out.  Don’t get me wrong, the movie is good, but I wanted it to be Avatar or Aliens or The Notebook type good and it just wasn’t, at least not for me.  The cinematography is amazing though.  They did a fabulous job recreating the ‘look’ from the 30’s. 

This movie won the People’s Choice Award for Favorite Drama Movie, the Satellite Award for Best Costume Design and the Teen Choice Award for Choice Movie Actor: Drama (Robert Pattinson).  Here’s what I have to say about that… the only one that was probably deserved was the one for Best Costume Design.  Robert Pattinson being who he is (aka Edward in Twilight) has shot to stardom and his fame and awards that are voted on by the general public are nothing more than leftover obsession from the Twilight movies.  The guy just isn’t a fabulous actor.  I love the Twilight books but the movies were only so-so and Pattinson is definitely NOT the guy I would have chosen to play Edward.  I don’t dislike the guy, I just don’t think he’s the next Robert De Niro or anything.  I actually really liked him in Remember Me but otherwise, I haven’t particularly enjoyed his acting. 

I thought Reese Witherspoon did an amazing job and looked freaking gorgeous.  However, there’s not a believable connection between Robert & Reese in the movie.

Christoph Waltz who plays Reese’s husband in the movie is totally believable.  I totally thought he was a scumbag and wanted to crawl into the movie and smack him.  He definitely should have gotten awards for his part in the movie. 

The ‘animal talent’ in the movie is as it should be… fantastic.  Being the huge animal lover that I am I had a hard time swallowing the plethora of animal abuse that went on during the movie but fortunately, it wasn’t gory and I was able to remind myself that there was no actual harm to the animals.  It brings to light an interesting topic though… are animals in current-day circuses abused?  My feelings are that yes, they most likely are in a lot of cases.  I could do a whole post on that but I’ll spare you.  If you want to read about it you can go here, here, and here for starters. 

All in all, I’m glad I watched it but I’m not dying to watch it again or anything.  I haven’t read the book but I think that I definitely will after seeing the movie.  I have a feeling I’ll like it more.

What about you guys?  Have you seen the movie?  Did you like it?  Did anybody else find it funny that Robert Pattinson’s character’s name in this movie is Jacob?

Leave a Reply

