Never call an accountant a credit to his profession; a good accountant is a debit to his profession. ~ Charles J.C. Lyall

Do you have AAA?  The hubs and I have it and have for years.  A few weeks ago when the hubs’ truck broke down and we went to pay the bill at the mechanics (groan), Hubs asked (totally jokingly) ‘got any discounts?’  The guy behind the counter said ‘got AAA?’  We do, so he gave us $50 off.  In the grand scheme of things considering what we spent on fixing the car that only saved us 1.5% of the cost of the bill.  Still, it’s $50 and that’s our date night budget so I’ll take it. 

This got me thinking though… had we not asked, we wouldn’t have gotten the discount.  How many other discounts are we passing up?  I know that Payless offers a AAA discount but I only know that because I used to work there.  I also know that a lot of hotels and attractions offer AAA discounts as well.  So, I checked the AAA Texas discount website and here are just a few highlights of places that offer AAA discounts.  I highly recommend going to the website to view which places offer discounts so that you can save some moo-lah!  If you’re a frequent traveler/online shopper you might even save more than the yearly membership costs! 

  • 1-800-Flowers
  • 24 Hour Fitness
  • Banana Republic
  • Best Western
  • Cinemark Theatres
  • FTD.com
  • Gap Outlet
  • Hard Rock Café
  • Hertz Car Rental
  • Houston Zoo
  • LensCrafters
  • Mariott Hotels & Resorts
  • New York & Company
  • Office Max
  • Park ‘N Fly
  • Payless ShoeSource
  • Ritz-Carlton
  • Saltgrass Steak House
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park
  • Sears
  • SeaWorld
  • Sylvan Learning Centers
  • Target
  • The Houston Museum of Natural Science
  • The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
  • The Parking Spot
  • T-Mobile

AAA also has a new thing I’d never heard of before called WOWPoints.  They’re basically points that you earn by shopping online at places like Target, Walmart and Best Buy.  Then, you can use the points to get free stuff, or you can pay for purchases with them, or you can even get cash back.  Sweet deal huh?

* Note:  This post is by no means sponsored by AAA, I just have been really happy with their service (towing my car when it dies and what not) and I love that I also get discounts just for having their Roadside Service.  And let’s face it, I just love to save money in any way possible.

Leave a Reply

