Movie Review: The Avengers

Have you seen The Avengers yet?  If not, you might be the only one.  I’ve heard zillions of people talking about this movie and all giving it positive reviews.  The Hubs and I went to see it this weekend and I’ve gotta say, they were right.  The movie rocks.  I’m not even a super hero movie lover and I think the movie rocks.  It’s got just enough humor coupled with a lot of really phenomenally well done action scenes.  The plot is a little thin but I think if I had seen Thor right before hand it would have made more sense.  We saw Thor when it came out a while back (May 2011) and if I had to recommend anything it would be to watch Thor before you see The Avengers. 

When we left the theatre the Hubs and I were talking about Robert Downey Jr. and how great he is in this movie.  The man has fabulous comedic timing and can deliver a one-liner like no other.  The hubs asked what he’d been in prior to playing Iron Man and Sherlock Holmes.  My answer?  A lot, but not a dang thing that I’ve seen.  So I checked IMDB and here are the few movies that I at least know the names of… Tropic Thunder, Zodiac, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Gothika, Bowfinger, Natural Born Killers, and Air America (the only one I’ve seen and which I loved).

Hubs also wanted to know why they couldn’t get the same guy to play The Hulk in all the movies.  I can’t answer the why question but I can answer the who.  So in 2003 the movie ‘Hulk’ came out and the big green guy was played by Eric Bana.  Then in 2008 ‘The Incredible Hulk‘ came out and this time the big green dude was played by Edward Norton (one of my all time faves).  Here’s what I do know, the 2003 and 2008 Hulk movies were produced by Universal Pictures and Marvel Enterprises whereas The Avengers was produced by Marvel Studios and Paramount Pictures.  Now, why they couldn’t get the same guy to play the Hulk in the first two movies I couldn’t tell you.  What I can tell you is that Mark Ruffalo does a fabulous job as The Hulk in The Avengers.  He’s totally believable as a semi-deranged brilliant doctor/scientist who secludes himself away in the farthest reaches of the world and has serious anger issues. 

All you How I Met Your Mother fans will be happy to know that Cobie Smulders (Robin) has a supporting role in this movie next to Samuel L. Jackson.  She does pretty well too.  I would have liked to see her kick a little more butt but that’s really Scarlett Johansson‘s role in the movie (eye candy for the dudes and butt kicking). 

Chris Hemsworth who plays Thor is gorgeous as ever.  He’s from Australia and sweet Lord I just want him to read me the phone book. 

The other eye candy in this movie is Jeremy Renner.  You probably know him from Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol, The Town, The Hurt Locker, or S.W.A.T.  He plays a pretty good badass.  I would have really liked some backstory on him though.  I didn’t even know his character’s name was Hawkeye (had to ask the Hubs about that one). 

All in all it gets two thumbs up from me.  We’re definitely buying this one on DVD when it comes out.

2 responses to “Movie Review: The Avengers

  1. Pingback: Movie Review: Crazy, Stupid, Love. « changingmymarbles

  2. Pingback: Movie Review: Battleship « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

