Filled to Overflowing…

source

I think I have some sort of disease.  Or, at least, some serious mis-wiring going on in my brain.  To all you moms out there who hold down a crazy corporate job, juggle a husband, kids, pets, a social life, your kids social lives, and keeping your house in order I seriously need lessons… and I’m not even a mom!  I am totally not capable of having only one or two things to do and leaving it that way.  I have to completely overload my life and then FREAK OUT when there’s just not enough hours in the day to get things done. 

Many of you know that the Hubs and I are now on our own in the house after mom moved out.  We’ve turned into psycho cleaning people now that we don’t have a maid.  We literally have a giant list of things to do around the house each week.  Let me give you the low down on this weeks schedule:

Monday:  water the flowers outside the front door, empty all the trash cans, dig hole & bury compost, kill ant beds, finish cleaning ceiling fans that didn’t get cleaned last weekend, water yard.

Tuesday:  vacuum and mop all floors (in our house this consists of vacuuming all rugs, picking up the rug and laying it out of the way, removing all furniture, vacuuming the floor, mopping the floor, putting everything back)  this takes us, on average, 3 hours.  Water yard.

Wednesday:  clean bathrooms (remove all items from sinks and showers, lightly wet all surfaces, dust with comet, lightly scrub with sponge, get into corners/crevasses with a toothbrush, rinse, rinse again, rinse one last time, dry, wipe down mirrors/glass/faucets with windex, use bleach & comet to scrub the toilets).  Water yard.

Thursday:  empty trash cans (this is the Hubs’ day off from chores unless he WANTS to get something done because I’m volunteering at the shelter every Thursday)  water yard. 

Friday/Saturday/Sunday:  spray all foliage outside with pest killer, give dog a bath, mow/edge/blow/sweep yard, pull weeds as needed, water yard, clean & refill all birdbaths, vacuum garage & clean all garage windows, wash bed sheets, replace AC filters, vacuum all the AC vents (including the ones in the ceiling), deep clean the master bedroom (every single inch of the room will get scrubbed, wiped, oiled, shined, etc), water the flowers by the front door

That’s just a glimpse into what we do each day.  On top of that, we have our lovely remodeling projects that we decided to start plus about a zillion other things on our ever growing to-do list. 

And then there’s the attempt at trying to keep up some semblance of a social life and just LIFE stuff in general.  In just a few weeks we’ve had/will have the following:  7 doctors’ appointments (so far), 2 weekends of Hubs on call @ his job, 1 week-long pet sitting job for me, 1 dinner with friends, 1 private swim lesson that I’m teaching, 2 date nights, 6 days volunteering after work at the animal shelter, 2 family dinners, 1 huge party (baptism for my nephew), 1 training class for canine obedience, 1 weekend out of town, 1 baby shower, and 1 week long vacation.  In addition to this I’m still trying to get more side work pet sitting and teaching private swim lessons.  Oh, and we’ll find out in the next week or two how many more doctor’s visits we’ll have to add to this crazy schedule.  

But, on top of ALL that, there’s my crazy brain.  I’ve told you before that I love to craft and create things and I never can find the time to do so (gee, I wonder why) and I find I’m still in the same place.  Would you believe that I have over 400 craft ideas saved to my computer of things I want to try?  No joke.  Isn’t that crazy?  I’m dying to make things like this:

source

Found on Pinterest but I can’t find the original source

source

source

source

And again, if all that weren’t enough, I’m frustrated that I’m not losing weight so I’m thinking very seriously about swimming laps during the designated adult lap swim time at our neighborhood pool once it opens.  That would mean that on Tuesday and Thursday nights, and once on the weekend, I would go swim for an hour. 

And somewhere in there, I’d like to get in the habit of walking the dog every day.

Oh, and I really want to learn to play the guitar.  And find more time to read.  And maybe watch a movie or listen to music that came out less than 2 years ago. 

How in the heck am I supposed to get all this done, still work full time, and get 8 hours of sleep a night (which I totally have to have to be able to function)????

2 responses to “Filled to Overflowing…

  1. Pingback: How to make a little somethin’ somethin’ with buttons… « changingmymarbles

  2. Pingback: 2013 « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

