Birdcage Planter

So you know how the other day I posted about my loot from Goodwill but said at the bottom that I had three other projects I had to get completed first?  Well, this is one of the three.

You see, my friend DK has a friend who LOVES to have garage sales.  I mean this lady LIVES FOR IT.  DK, being the awesome gal that she is, lets her friend host garage sales at her house.  Nice huh?  Well they had one a few weekends back and I went over there to raid it before they sold anything I could makeover.  I came home with three pieces, one of which was this Christmas-y birdcage thing.  I assume that this guy was at one point part of someone’s Christmas decorations.  It’s hard to tell in the picture but he’s sort of a dingy gold color.

I picked up a Maidenhair Fern at our local nursery.  I honestly chose him for no other reason that I liked the way he looked.  Lucky for me, he should do relatively ok inside.  My only concern is that we might keep it too cold in our house for him.  We’ll wait and see how he does though.  Want to go know to care for your own Maidenhair Fern?  Go here.

I also went rummaging through our collection of pots to find a good pot to plant this guy in.  My husband was THRILLED with this pot that I found because it has a dragon on it.  He’s such a boy.  I like it too though so he got a bath (he was kinda yuck from sitting in our backyard side yard storage area for ump-teen years).

I started by taking the birdcage apart (3 screws holding the bottom ‘panel’ in place) and tossing the gross ornaments.  I gave him a good scrub and noticed that one of his ‘spokes’ had broken off on one end.  So, I had my super-handy husband solder the sucker back together.

Then I attacked him (the cage, not my husband) with spray paint.  I honestly wanted an ORB (Oil-Rubbed Bronze) color but couldn’t find the spray-paint I wanted at Wally World so I settled on a copper color instead.  I’m so happy that I did.  The color is gorgeous against the leaves.

I mixed 2 parts potting soil with 1 part vermiculite.  If you’ve never heard of this product before, no worries, you’re not alone.  I only heard of it a few years ago after doing some research for the garden we were working on.  Basically, it’s seed starter mix.  It’s light and loose which allows the plants to get their roots growing easily.  I also added some moisture granules (basically these guys suck up moisture when you water the plant and distribute it slowly over the course of a few hours/days.  This, I’m hoping, will help our little fern since he likes a moist environment.

Once he was planted and put back together I put the little guy on our breakfast table.  So far he seems happy there but we’ll see.  If he starts looking puny I’m going to move him to our screened-in porch where it’s much warmer.

So, what do you think?  How do you like our Christmas-decoration-turned-planter?

I linked up to this party:
Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Creatively Living
Delightful Order
I Heart Naptime
Kammy’s Korner
Mommy by Day… Crafter by Night
One Artsy Mama
Skip to My Lou

4 responses to “Birdcage Planter

  1. Heather

    Who would even think to do that but you?! You are so crafty, it is crazy! Looks very cute and very different! Like I said, who would think to do that!

  2. Haha – thanks girl! It’s so funny you say that because my mom said almost the exact same thing. For whatever reason when I saw it I immediately thought it would look cute as a planter. I’m just weird I guess!

  3. I love it! It’s beautiful!

    –Katie
    @ Creatively Living

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me! « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

