“Guys, a woman’s purse, alright, it’s her secret source of power. Alright? There are many dark and dangerous things in there that we, the male species, should know nothing about.” – Ben (Matthew McConaughey) in How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days

Are you a purse person?  I’m not.  I carry one because I have a ton of stuff that I need to take with me on a daily basis and there’s no other way to lug it all around (except maybe a fanny pack, but let’s face it, the last thing I need is to draw any more attention to my fanny).  Anyways, because I’m not a purse person this also means that there are very few purses I actually like.  When I come across one (which is a seriously rare occurrence) I buy it because I know that eventually I’ll need it.  I also don’t buy expensive purses.  I tend to purchase them at places like Target and Charming Charlie and I think the most I’ve ever spent is around $50 and I had a serious time swallowing that price tag.  Generally I will use a purse until it’s torn to shreds.  I just don’t see the point in changing them out to go with outfits.  I have many, many, many more things that need my time.  If I’m dressing up for some special occasion then I’ll take the time but otherwise, I’m using what I’ve got. 

The other day I decided it was definitely time to get a new purse.  I also carry a large black bag to work every day and that one was just in sad shape.  One of the handles had started to rip off (several months ago) and my genius solution was to tape the sucker back together with electrical tape (hey it’s black, it blends right?).  Well the tape wasn’t holding (and another handle on the same purse was starting to tear as well) and the handle on my regular purse was falling apart too so I finally caved. 

Old purse (sorry for the fuzzy picture, I was trying to get a picture of the damage)

New purse.

Old work bag

New work bag

(excuse the chipped door, it’s part of the Master Bedroom Renovation)

What about you guys?  Where do you normally purchase your purses?  Is my $50 limit relatively standard or am I just cheap?

Leave a Reply

