Recipe Review: Pesto Tuna Salad with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

I’m about to share a life changing recipe with you.  Are you ready?  I’m totally giving away a secret weapon here.  This is one of my go-to recipes whenever I’m asked to bring something to a potluck or cater an event.  It’s always a hit and people are always tripping over themselves to ask me about the recipe.  I can’t take any credit for the recipe itself though, I totally didn’t come up with it.  I was just lucky enough to stumble across it one day and make it.  So I’m giving mad props to the girl who was inspired enough to come up with this recipe and can’t thank her enough for sharing.  You can find the original source of the recipe here.

Pesto Tuna Salad with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 6-oz can water packed tuna
  • ¼ cup prepared basil pesto sauce (usually found in your grocers refrigerated section)
  • 6 oil-packed sun dried tomatoes (these usually come julienned or in ‘strip form’)
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons parmesan cheese (we prefer the ‘powdered’ kind versus the grated kind in this recipe)
  • 4 slices white bread or lettuce

DIRECTIONS:

In a bowl, mix the tuna, pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, mayonnaise, and Parmesan cheese. Cover, and refrigerate until ready to serve.  Serve on toasted white bread or rolled in washed lettuce leaves.

NOTES:

I typically pulse the sun-dried tomatoes in my food processor.  It’s hard to cut the slippery little buggers on a cutting board with a knife.  So, if you have one I highly suggest this method.

We usually make a large batch (last time I made this I multiplied everything by 10!) – it stays good for several days so if you have leftovers you’ve got lunches covered for a few days!  Yum!!!

(note:  it appears that in this photo she’s topped it with a few fresh basil leaves and either some fresh tomato slices or some roasted red bell peppers)

I’ve linked this recipe up here:

Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Creatively Living
Delightful Order
Ginger Snap Crafts
Happy Hour Projects
Home Stories A to Z
I Heart Nap Time
Mommy by Day, Crafter by Night
My Girlish Whims
One Artsy Mama
Skip to my Lou
Under the Table and Dreaming

Leave a Reply

