Recipe Review: Mango and Radish Salad with Lime Dressing

I found this recipe years ago in a Martha Stewart magazine.  As per usual, Martha has combined ingredients in a deliciously surprising way that I never would have thought of.  I’ve made this recipe once before but I decided to make it again recently for my nephew’s baptism ‘after party.’  I’m not a big fruit-in-salad person.  Personally I think fruit should just be left alone.  Don’t dip it in anything, don’t mix it with anything, just leave it be.  I’m a fruit purist if you will.  Either way, the recipe was a hit.  Here’s what you need…

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 mango, peeled & cut into wedges (look for one that isn’t overly ripe, you don’t want it squishy but you don’t want it hard either)
  • ½ English cucumber, thinly sliced (you cannot substitute a ‘regular’ cucumber)
  • 1 bunch radishes (about 8), halved or quartered
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated fresh lime zest
  • 2 tablespoons fresh (not bottled!) lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • Coarse salt (I used a sea salt grinder)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Arrange mango, cucumber, and radishes on a platter.
  2. Whisk together lime zest and juice, oil, and honey.
  3. Drizzle dressing over salad, and season with salt.

THOUGHTS

  1. This dish is beautiful
  2. It’s extremely refreshing
  3. I think there’s waaaay too much dressing.  After this salad sat for an hour or two there was a good two inches of liquid at the bottom.  Yuck.  When I make this again, I’m going to combine the lime zest, lime juice, EVOO & honey in a bottle, shake shake shake, and drizzle some onto the salad until I reach the desired amount of dressing.  (I would use closer to a third, or half, of the recommended amount)
  4. For a company worthy meal I suggest serving this with Martha’s Garlic-Jalapeno Shrimp, Rice with Peas and Cilantro and Caramel Custards.

I linked this recipe up here:

I Heart Nap Time

blah2beautiful

Leave a Reply

