Book Review: Dark Fire by Christine Feehan

Do you remember way back when I admitted that I’m a fan of the vampire genre?  Well, that hasn’t changed.  Have you ever heard of an author named Christine Feehan?  I hadn’t.  At least not until several years ago when I was wandering through Kroger on my lunch break and found one of her books for sale.  I picked it up and devoured it in about two days.  They’re not deep books.  They’re what’s known as ‘chick-lit’ meaning it’s a book written for women (i.e. a romance book) and in this case, it also happens to be about vampires.  Sorta.  Really she writes about a race of semi-vampires known as Carpathians.  She also has a series about leopard people (of which the first book is one of many). 

Recently I picked up another one of her books called Dark Fire.  It’s not my favorite of the two books but I liked it.  Feehan’s books are ‘stand alone’ meaning that you can read one without having to read all of the others in the series and they’ll all still make sense.  I appreciate this considering that Dark Fire is #6 in the 23 book ‘series.’ 

So here are the ‘issues’ I have with the book…

  • The heroines name is Tempest.  Really?  I mean, is she a stripper? 
  • The heroine is supposedly a badass mechanic but other than the very beginning of the book she never works on a car.  You’d think she’d have been able to use her skill SOMEWHERE in the book right?
  • Stolen names… One vampire hunter is named Cullen.  I totally can’t blame her for that since Dark Fire was written in 2001 looooong before Twilight came out but still, it got on my nerves.  There’s ANOTHER vampire whose name is William Wallace.  Are you freaking kidding me?  I couldn’t read that without hearing ‘FREEEEEEDOOOOOOM!!!!!’ in my head every time.   
  • I still have a hard time with the whole Carpathian life-mate thing.  If you get into these books you’ll find that each book is about a Carpathian male finding his ‘wife’ (they’re called life-mates because they’re immortal).  The whole idea is that your life-mate is literally the other half of your soul and when you find her, you can bind her to you for all time.  A male cannot bind just any female to him, she has to be his one true life-mate.  I can accept that but when it happens in this book he sees her, spends five minutes with her, and binds her.  The whole time I’m sitting there thinking ‘caveman much?’  It’s just such an archaic form of thinking.  ‘I like you, I want you, I’m going to pee on you to mark my territory.’  Ok so there’s no actual peeing but you get the idea.  It’s a point of contention that I have with most of her books. 

All in all if you’re looking for a quick read or something to get you in the mood for when your hunny comes home I’d say pick this one up. 

Here’s the synopsis from Christine Feehan’s website:

There is Always a Price to Pay

So Darius warned her when she accepted a position with his traveling troupe. And gazing mesmerized at the merciless slash of his mouth, the implacable resolve on his face, the soulless emptiness of his black eyes, Tempest was afraid to ask what it was.

She had always been different, apart from others. From the moment his arms closed around her, enveloping her in a sorcerer’s spell, Darius seemed to understand her unique gifts. But did his kiss offer the love and belonging she sought, or a danger more potent than his own panthers?

Somewhere deep inside herself, Tempest realized she knew the answer. She had no choice but to accept the velvet stroke of his tongue, submit to the white-hot heat piercing her skin, welcome an erotic pleasure like no other….

One response to “Book Review: Dark Fire by Christine Feehan

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Kentucky Bride by Hannah Howell « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

