Product Review: What I thought of my BirchBox goodies…

So a while back I mentioned that I’d received a nifty little package in the mail from BirchBox.  Then, a month later, I received my second one (it’s a monthly subscription).  I told you guys that I was going to take all of my goodies with me on my vacation to Lake Tahoe and let you know what I thought.

So, I did take everything, but I didn’t use everything.  I’m not all about the whole makeup wearing/hair arranging when I’m on vacation so there were several items that I haven’t used yet.  I WILL let you know what I think about them when I do.  Promise. 

Here’s what I’ve used (and what I think about it) so far…

Borghese Bagno Di Vita Soak

I used these bath salts the day we arrived in Tahoe.  I was exhausted from travelling (I’m sure having to be at the airport at 5am had something to do with that) and I just wanted to chill when we finally made it into our hotel room.  So, I drew a bath, tossed a package of these suckers in, and soaked for about thirty minutes.  I won’t say that I felt like a million bucks or that I think that these bath salts are anything different than the zillions of other bath salts I’ve used over the years.  However, I will say that they smell very nice, and I like the fact that they turn the water a soft blue color.  It was sort of like being in a small pool. 

theBalm cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen

I actually like this lip stain.  The only thing I don’t like is that you really have to pay attention when you apply it because it can get a little streaky.  As long as you have 30 seconds to focus, and a mirror, you’re all good. This lip stain doesn’t stay on for 12 hours or anything though; if you eat or drink something, it’s gone.  It has a nice, light color though and it doesn’t feel greasy like some lip glosses can. 

LUNA Bar in Chocolate Peppermint Stick

The Luna Bar is AMAZING.  I seriously could devour these.  I’m kind of hoping that Santa remembers to put these in my stocking this year.  YUM YUM!  I’m not sure how they stack up nutritionally against other similar products but the flavor is fabulous and there’s definitely way more protein (8g total) than you’d get by eating a cookie or something similar.  The Chocolate Peppermint flavor has just a subtle mint tone and isn’t overpowering while still being VERY chocolaty.  I’m definitely planning on getting some of these to put in my lunch box.  Soooo good. 

Kerastase Paris Cristalliste Lait Cristal & Bain Cristal with Lumiere Liquide

 

 

The Keratase ‘set’ that I got came with a shine serum that I used once on our trip.  I honestly don’t feel like I can really review this because I’m of the opinion that shine serums only work well on my hair when I straighten it, which I didn’t do.  I put a few drops in my wet hair, scrunched it around a bit and ran out the door.  Since I’m wearing my hair curly now I don’t know that I’ll be able to give this product a ‘real’ review since I don’t have any intentions of straightening my hair for a long long time. 

 

 

One response to “Product Review: What I thought of my BirchBox goodies…

  1. Pingback: One reason I love snail mail (part 3)… « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

