Recipe Review: Onion Tomato Soup

Do you like soup?  I looooove soup.  Even now, when it’s in the 100s here in Houston I can’t say no to a bowl of soup.  I bring it for lunch nearly every day.  Is that weird?  It is kind of cold in my office but that’s not why I bring it.  I just love it.  It’s my comfort food I think.

I tried a new recipe the other day for a soup called Onion Tomato Soup.  I found it in a Taste of Home magazine a while back.  You can view the original recipe here.

(picture from Taste of Home)

Onion Tomato Soup

Serves 6

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups thinly sliced onions
  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2-2/3 cups tomato juice
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh basil
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh oregano
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon celery salt
  • 2 cups diced seeded plum tomatoes

DIRECTIONS

In a large saucepan, saute onion in oil until tender. Add the tomato juice, water, basil, oregano, sugar and celery salt. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the tomatoes; cook 10 minutes longer.

THOUGHTS

I didn’t have the desire to seed and chop my tomatoes so I pulsed them in my food processor instead.  The soup seemed a little bit watery to me and it might be because I didn’t seed the tomatoes but I’m not sure.  I really enjoyed the soup but it just felt like it was missing something.  Next time I’m either going to sub vegetable broth for the 2 cups of water or I’m going to add some minced garlic.  It just needs a bit more pizazz!

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs, Skip to My Lou, and Chef in Training.

As well as…


One Artsy Mama

Leave a Reply

