Book Review: Kentucky Bride by Hannah Howell

It hasn’t been that long since my last book review but I want you to know I really was trying to give you guys a break after posting seven nearly back to back.  That being said, I’ve read several books since then so the reviews are starting to pile up again.  Eventually once I get my life in order (haha) I might start making these a weekly deal or something (kind of like my Window Shopping Wednesday) but who knows.  In the meantime, I’ve gotta tell you about this book!

Ok, so I’m sure you can tell from the cover that yes, this is totally a romance novel.  Don’t let that stop you from reading it though.  I’m being totally honest here when I say that if you took out all of the romance parts this is still a really good book.  It’ll keep you on the edge of your seat.  This is totally one of those books that I was reading at red lights. 

Here’s the synopsis from Barnes & Noble but I’ve gotta tell you, it sucks.  It totally doesn’t do this book justice. 

Beautiful Clover Sherwood never expected such a cruel fate. Her father’s death has left her penniless, ostracized from Pennsylvania society, and abandoned by her fiancé. All she has now is a grieving mother, two hungry little brothers and no prospects…until a wealthy Kentucky backwoodsman with a deep Scottish burr comes to town-and inspires her to make a most daring move…

It’s no secret that rugged, roughhewn Scotsman, Ballard MacGregor is ready to marry. Nonetheless, he is surprised by genteel Clover’s sudden proposal…and more than pleased. For the lass’s sweet innocence is bewitching. But settlement life proves harsh on his refined young wife. And Ballard fears that unless he can awaken her passion and win her love-as she has won his-he may lose his Kentucky bride…

Leave a Reply

