Flowers are the sweetest things God ever made, and forgot to put a soul into. ~ Henry Beecher, Life Thoughts, 1858

Are you an Ikea fan?  I am.  I totally am.  Some of their stuff is cheap and not worth buying.  Other stuff though, totally worth it.  A while back mom and I were wandering through Ikea (I can’t even remember what for now) and we found this guy…

The Ikea Socker Greenhouse

Isn’t he adorable?!?!  I just *HAD* to have him.  So I paid for him and he went home with me.  I knew immediately what flowers I planned to put in him.  African violets.  Yep, I’m a glutton for punishment.  I went with Hubs to Lowes and we picked up 4 of them plus pots and special potting mix.

Here’s what I will say – getting this sucker together was not easy.  I totally had to stop at one point for fear of breaking it and get the Hubs to help me out.  Truthfully, if it didn’t entail a thirty minute drive, I probably would have exchanged the greenhouse for another one.  We kept getting snagged on a bent part and Hubs had to manually unbend it without ripping the whole thing to shreds.  In the end, he got it to work.  It doesn’t close perfectly but I’m ok with that.  He’s still freaking cute.

He’s hanging out right now in our dining room.

Close -up

His perch in our dining room.

Opening the top

Flower close-up

Truth is, I potted this sucker at least a month ago and guess what?  The flowers all died.  Just the flowers though… the foliage is still looking great.  I’m fairly certain the reasoning for this is a lack of humidity.  This is where the whole thing about this greenhouse being damaged from the get-go comes into play.  I’m going to try something different with them to raise their humidity level (filling the ‘saucers’ with rocks and water, then placing the plants on top).  Hopefully it’ll help.  If not, this may mean that I have to find another plant that will thrive.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs, Skip to My Lou, and Chef in Training.

As well as…


One Artsy Mama

2 responses to “Flowers are the sweetest things God ever made, and forgot to put a soul into. ~ Henry Beecher, Life Thoughts, 1858

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me! « changingmymarbles

  2. Pingback: 2012 Wrap Up « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

