Recipe Review: Beef and Wild Rice Medley

I’m a picky eater (as detailed here, here, and even here).  One of the things I don’t eat is beef.  Don’t ask me why, I just don’t like it.  I remember eating steak as a child but as I got older… eww.  Occasionally I’ll eat ground beef (strange I know, especially since that’s not the ‘good’ meat) but mostly, I just shy away from it all together.

So, it’s safe to say I made this recipe with the Husband in mind.  He looooves meat (like most other red-blooded American males).  I’m also a huge fan of dishes that are 1-pot meals and/or require a packaged ingredient (this is how I use up a lot of the things I buy with coupons).

Enter the Beef and Wild Rice Medley from the Taste of Home website.  I’ve gotta tell ya, I ate a spoonful of rice and vegis out of the pot when this was done and it was mmm mmm good!  I know why the Hubs ate the ENTIRE 4 SERVINGS in one sitting.  If you’re looking for a quick, meaty, and delicious meal, this is it!  Pair it with a salad and you’re good to go.  Enjoy!!!

(picture from Taste of Home)

Beef and Wild Rice Medley

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS

  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 lb beef top sirloin steak, cut into ¾-inch cubes
  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil
  • ¼ cup sliced celery
  • ¼ cup julienned green bell pepper
  • 2-1/4 cups water
  • 1 package (6 oz) long grain and wild rice mix (we used Uncle Ben’s Original)
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped green onion

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a small bowl, combine the garlic powder, thyme and cayenne. Sprinkle over beef.
  2. In a large saucepan coated with cooking spray, cook beef in oil until no longer pink; drain. Stir in celery and green pepper; cook 2 minutes longer or until vegetables are crisp-tender. Stir in the water and rice mix with contents of seasoning packet.
  3. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 23-28 minutes or until rice is tender. Stir in tomato; heat through. Sprinkle with onion. 

THOUGHTS

I didn’t find a need to drain the meat.  There was very little grease to speak of (maybe ½ a teaspoon) so I just left it.

Super easy to get this baby started and then make a salad/set the table while it’s finishing up.  You absolutely should try this recipe!  I’ll be making this one again soon.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Delightful Order
Happy Hour Projects
I Heart Nap Time
Ivy and Elephants
One Artsy Mama
Skip to My Lou
Under the Table and Dreaming

One response to “Recipe Review: Beef and Wild Rice Medley

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me! « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

