Movie Review: 12 Rounds

This ought to give you some idea of how many movies are in our Netflix queue – this movie came out in 2009 and I’m pretty darn certain we put it in our queue when we saw the previews… and we’re just now watching it.  It’s 2012 by the way if you didn’t know.  So yeah, three years’ worth of movies passed.  Craziness. 

Anyways, I have to say I rather enjoyed this movie.  There were some hokey parts that were to be expected (especially considering the main actor is a WWE wrestler).  I mean, let’s face it, WWE guys aren’t exactly known for their amazing acting skills (The Rock anyone?).  John Cena does a pretty good job though all things considered.  It’s not as though the guy is a trained actor.  Strangely enough, Brian White (who plays his partner) and who is a good actor (watch The Family Stone for proof) totally sucks it up in this movie.  He’s just not believable.  The acting just seems forced.  Maybe he just wasn’t able to channel his inner cop.  Steve Harris, on the other hand, is tooootally in sync with his FBI persona.  You pretty much hate him in the end.  He’s a self-righteous prick.  Although, if I remember correctly, he also played a self-righteous prick of a lawyer in some TV series (Ally McBeal, The Practice?  something like that).  Maybe he’s just a self-righteous prick. 

It irks me that we don’t find out until the last five minutes of the movie what John Cenas’ characters wife does for a living (her name is Ashley Scott btw).  Here’s why it’s irritating:  it’s the key to this entire freaking movie.  I didn’t see the end coming at all which is fine, I like that.  However, I felt irritated at the end because I didn’t have all the facts.  It’s like trying to complete a puzzle when the person across from you is hiding a few pieces in their pocket.  NO FAIR! 

The only other issue I had with this movie is that John Cena’s character struggles to even manage a pull up.  Even if you didn’t know going in that he’s a wrestler, the guy is in ridiculous shape.  I don’t know a single guy in that kind of shape who couldn’t manage to do one single pull up.  If you’re going to put in an actor with that sort of physical prowess then let him show off a little.  It doesn’t have to be flashy or overdone, but I’m pretty sure those muscles are capable of doing more than making women drool. 

Last but not least, there’s a song at the very end of the movie (during the credits if I remember correctly) that I love.  Sadly, I can’t find the name of it.  Someone with better internet skills than myself want to give it a shot? 

What’d you think?  Have you seen this movie?  Did you like it?  Do you think that wrestlers should just stick to wrestling? 

Random I know, but is it just me or does John Cena look like an older, and much more muscly version of Channing Tatum?

Leave a Reply

