I dreamed of a wedding of elaborate elegance, A church filled with family and friends. I asked him what kind of a wedding he wished for, He said one that would make me his wife. ~ Author Unknown

In a few months the Hubs and I will celebrate two years of marriage.  Part of me cannot believe that it’s only been two years but naturally, there’s another part of me that can’t believe it’s already been two years.  Isn’t that always the case? 

A friend of mine was over the other night and we were looking at a few pictures I’d taken (which were awful, btw) of her wedding and she said ‘the one thing I wish I’d done is get a photographer.  I don’t really have any pictures.’  Then today, I read an article on a blog I read called What Junebug Loves about how to incorporate your waggly-tailed furball into your wedding.  It was my original plan to have our sweet four-legged child walk down the isle with one of my bridesmaids and she would be ‘wearing’ a pillow which held our wedding rings.  In essence, she’d be the flower girl.  Unfortunately my pup has lots of medical issues that were just way too complicated to get around and we ended up not having her there on our special day.  I’d have to say that’s my one big regret that I have about my wedding.  I wish we’d found a way to incorporate her. 

The only other thing that I didn’t plan for was the photographer taking pictures of my wedding dress without me in it.  Did you know that there are these gorgeous hangers made specifically for this purpose?  Apparently that’s relatively common knowledge and I just totally skipped over that nifty idea when I was planning for my wedding.  My personal favorites are ones like these (click pictures for source)…

So, this got me to thinking – if you’re married and you had a wedding, what do you regret (if anything)?  Or, instead of regret, perhaps I should say, what would you have changed? 

Also – do you think that you and your spouse will do a vow renewal ceremony at some point?  If so, will it be a big to-do like the ‘first time’ or will it be something small and intimate?  When do you think it’s appropriate to do a vow renewal?  After 10 years?  25?  50?  Personally I love the idea of vow renewal ceremonies.  My dream would be to have all of my family and friends join my Husband and I for a destination renewal somewhere gorgeous and exotic (Greece or Fiji anyone?).  I think we’ll wait until at least 25 years of marriage before we plan this though!

Can’t wait to see what you guys have to say!

One response to “I dreamed of a wedding of elaborate elegance, A church filled with family and friends. I asked him what kind of a wedding he wished for, He said one that would make me his wife. ~ Author Unknown

  1. Heather

    My biggest regret would be not putting much thought into our music. The DJ told us to make a list but we never did and most of what he played was fine and we danced and danced but someone requested a song that I didn’t know nor like and I also wanted to dance with my grandpa to a special song and completely forgot about it. I really regret not dancing with him to that song!

Leave a Reply

