“Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time, and always start with the person nearest you.” ~ Mother Teresa

Last week I lost a very wonderful friend to brain cancer.  She was an incredible source of joy in my life and taught me to always always always keep smiling and never stop having fun.  I am so happy to have such great memories of her to keep me going. 

Sadly the truth is that I wasn’t there for her at all during this incredibly difficult time in her life.  We messaged back and forth on facebook a few times, but that’s it.  It shames me to admit that during a time when she needed assistance the most, I was completely engrossed in my own life.  I think she knows though, that I love her, and I don’t think she judges me. 

We’re all guilty of this – getting so wrapped up in our own lives and our own woes that we totally forget what’s going on in the lives of those around us.  If there’s one thing I appreciate about social media sites such as facebook it’s that bad news can travel fast and that means that you can learn quickly where you need to lend a helping hand. 

I have a really good friend who I’ve known for nearly 20 years who lives not too far away from me.  He, his sister, her husband and his sister’s two kids are all currently living at home with their mom and dad.  His mom just had a double mastectomy and has already undergone at least two surgeries and has one more scheduled in the coming weeks.  His dad had surgery for a hernia last week.  As I’m sure you can imagine this is taking a huge toll on this family both emotionally and financially.  This time though, instead of sitting on my duff and doing nothing, I decided to pitch in in a very small way. 

A few nights ago the hubs and I spent a few hours in the kitchen preparing dinner for this family of 7.  We brought the entire thing to their house (main dish, side dish, salad, dessert, fresh baked bread and iced tea).  I realize it’s not much, but it’s one less thing that they had to worry about that day.  It’s one teeny tiny way that I was able to reach out and touch their lives and let them know that we’re there for them during this incredibly difficult time in their lives.  We love them, and if I could hug them each and every day I would. 

So, here’s my question for you:  who do you know who needs a helping hand today?  It can be as small as bringing them a home cooked meal or driving them to pick up their prescriptions or something larger such as paying their electricity bill for the month.  Everyone is going through something.  How can you help to make the world just a little bit brighter for someone?

2 responses to ““Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time, and always start with the person nearest you.” ~ Mother Teresa

  1. Pingback: Recipe Review: Farmhouse Chicken Dinner « changingmymarbles

  2. Pingback: Easy Peasy Green Beans « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

