Recipe Review: Chicken with Peanut Sauce and Lo Mein Noodles

I consider myself a pretty good cook.  Truthfully, we have very little ‘fails’ at our house in the kitchen… unless it’s lasagna, but that’s a story for another day.  Anyway, one of the few things that for the life of me I just can’t seem to cook right is Chinese food.  I mean I truly suck at it.  If we’re going to have a fail, it’s probably going to be because I tried to make Chinese food.  If we’re really craving it, we order out because that’s a sure thing.  However, when money is tight or I just happen to have a bag of stir-fry veggies in my freezer sometimes I’ll get a wild hair up my bum and try to make Chinese food at home.  This particular recipe is one I’ve made a few times and that my husband loves.  I don’t love it, but I don’t hate it.  Truthfully it’s really high in salt to me (although most things are) and as I’m not a huge fan of peanuts (or peanut butter) this isn’t particularly up my alley.  That being said, I do think this recipe is worth sharing… at least according to my husband.

I’m fairly certain that I got the original recipe out of a Cooking Light magazine however I scoured the internet and cannot find this recipe anywhere.  So, excuse the crummy picture… it’s been scanned in from the now several-years-old magazine page that I tore out.

Chicken with Peanut Sauce and Lo Mein Noodles

Serves 6

INGREDIENTS

  • 8 ounces wide lo mein noodles (I can never find these, so I use linguine or fettuccine noodles instead)
  • 14-ounce can of fat-free, reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1/8 cup reduced fat creamy peanut butter (I use full-fat regular creamy Jiff)
  • 2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons sweet chili sauce (such as Maggi)
  • 2 Tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons dark sesame oil, divided
  • Cooking Spray
  • 1 pound chicken breasts (or tenders) cut into bite-size pieces
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
  • 18-ounce package of frozen stir-fry veggies
  • 3 Tablespoons chopped fresh basil
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped, unsalted, dry-roasted peanuts

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cook lo mein (fettuccine or linguine) noodles according to package directions, omitting salt and fat; drain.
  2. Combine chicken broth, and next 4 ingredients in a small bowl; stir well with whisk.  Set aside.
  3. While lo mein noodles cook, heat 1 teaspoon oil in a large, deep nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat.  Add chicken to pan; sauté 6 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink and is completely cooked through.  Remove from pan and set aside.
  4. Add remaining 1 teaspoon oil to pan.  Add garlic and ginger to pan; sauté 30 seconds (be careful not to let it burn!).  Add vegetables to pan; sauté 4 minutes or just until crisp-tender.  Stir in peanut butter mixture.  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat; cook 5 minutes or until thick.  Return chicken to pan; cook 2 minutes or until chicken is thoroughly heated.  Add noodles; toss well.  Top each serving with chopped basil and peanuts.

THOUGHTS

  • If you know you’re going to be in a hurry, you can prepare the peanut butter mixture the night before and just let it sit in the fridge overnight.
  • I found it unnecessary to thaw my vegetables before cooking which is nice as I usually forget to take them out of the freezer until right before I start cooking
  • It usually takes longer than 5 minutes for the peanut butter mixture to thicken up.  Give it enough time or else your dish will be really watery.  It’s ready when it coats your spoon and doesn’t immediately run off.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Delightful Order
Happy Hour Projects
One Artsy Mama
Skip to My Lou
Under the Table and Dreaming

One response to “Recipe Review: Chicken with Peanut Sauce and Lo Mein Noodles

  1. Sarah

    I just found this recipe and my family really liked it. Thank you for posting!

Leave a Reply

