Recipe Review: Creamy Apple Pie

So I’ve told you guys about the Farmhouse Chicken Dinner and the Easy Peasy Green Beans that I provided for a family I know that’s going through a rough patch.  Well, I also tried out a new-to-me recipe from Better Homes & Gardens.  It’s easy to make and it turned out well and you’ve got to love the fact that it can be prepared the day before and refrigerated overnight.

Creamy Apple Pie (picture from BHG website)

Creamy Apple Pie

Serves 8 to 10

INGREDIENTS

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 2 cups finely crushed crunchy oat and honey granola bars (about 12 bars, or 1 box of 6 packages) (easiest to ‘crush’ these one or two at a time in a food processor)
  • 1 cup flaked coconut
  • ¼ cup butter, melted
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • ½ cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 7 large cooking apples, peeled, cored and cut into thick slices (I used the apples that are a yellowish red)
  • 8oz carton of mascarpone cheese or cream cheese, softened (I used mascarpone)
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. amaretto or ½ tsp. almond extract (I used extract)
  • 1 cup whipping cream (NOT whipped cream)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Coat a 9-inch pie plate with cooking spray.
  2. Combine crushed bars, coconut, and ¼ cup butter.  Press on bottom and up sides of pie plate.  Bake 10 minutes.  Cool.  In a very large skillet melt 2 tablespoons butter over medium heat.  Stir in brown sugar, lemon juice, and cinnamon.  Stir in apples.  Cook uncovered over medium heat for 25 minutes or until apples are very tender; stir occasionally.
  3. Cool 15 minutes.  Meanwhile, in a large bowl beat cheese, granulated sugar and amaretto or almond extract with electric mixer on medium speed for 30 seconds or until light and fluffy.  In a medium bowl beat whipping cream on medium speed until soft peaks form; beat into mascarpone mixture on low speed until combined.
  4. Layer half of the apple mixture in piecrust.  Spread half of the cheese-whipped cream mixture atop the apples.  Layer remaining apple mixture atop cheese-whipped cream mixture.  Spread with remaining cheese-whipped cream mixture
  5. Cover loosely and chill at least 4 hours or up to 24 hours.

THOUGHTS

  • The first time I made this I totally goofed and bought whipped cream instead of whipping cream – it makes this dish way to sweet.  Don’t make the same mistake!
  • I used one of those nifty apple slicers that slices the apple uniformally while coring it at the same time.  However, after making this pie twice I can tell you that those slices aren’t small enough.  So, the next time I made the pie I used the same tool, then I cut each slice into thirds.  This made the apples more bite-size.
  • I found the apple/cheese/apple/cheese layering to be a pain and not really worth it.  The last time I made the pie I just made one layer (i.e. crust/apples/cheese).  No one complained so that’s the way I’d go when making this pie again.
  • This pie is messy to slice and doesn’t “present pretty” when cut up (it sorta falls apart) so be aware of that if you’re serving for company.  If you want people to “ooh” and “ahh” over the way it looks, make sure that you show them the unsliced pie!
  • I thought the crust was delicious and I’m definitely going to have to find a way to incorporate the crust in other desserts!
  • I would have ice cold milk or hot coffee on hand to serve with this dish.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Days of Chalk and Chocolate
Happy Hour Projects
I Heart Nap Time
Ivy and Elephants
One Artsy Mama

Leave a Reply

