One reason I love snail mail (part 4)…

So I just got my August BirchBox in the mail the other day. 

Here’s the rundown of what was in my box (prices are for full-size product):

DDF Brightening Cleanser:  $38
Juicy Couture Viva la Juicy La Fleur (smallest bottle at 2.5oz):  $70
Miss Jessie’s Original Pillow Soft Curls:  $22
Whish Three Wishes Body Butter:  $24
Schick Hydro Silk Razor:  $11.50 (approximately  –  it really depends on where you buy it)

TOTAL:  $165.50

Since I paid $10 for the trial size box I saved $155.50 (if you figure I could have purchased these in their full-sized varieties). 

DDF Brightening Cleanser

Here’s what the website says:  A blend of six natural skin brighteners in a foaming glycolic and salicylic gel to help noticeably minimize uneven skin tone and target age spots. Excellent for face and body as part of an overall hyperpigmentation program. Also effective in helping minimize post blemish discoloration. Licorice scent.

This is likely going to go to the Hubs since I have to use special stuff on my face for a weird condition I have with my eyelids. 

Juicy Couture Viva la Juicy La Fleur

 

Here’s what the website says:  Uplifting. Playful. Dreamy. Inspired by the blushing aura of being in love, Viva la Juicy La Fleur is a breathtaking new fragrance that captures the dreamy, ethereal feeling of love’s first embrace.

I thought that this was a little on the too-sweet and too-young side.  It kind of smelled like it was something you’d buy for a 6-year old playing dress up.  It won’t be my go-to perfume that’s for sure.  Unless I’m running errands…

Miss Jessie’s Original Pillow Soft Curls

Here’s what the website says: The name says it all.  Miss Jessie’s PILLOW SOFT CURLS™ is the new styling lotion that borrows fabric care technology and marries it to hair care. It is perfect for achieving static-free, big, soft, curly hair that we all dream about. If you don’t want ramen noodle definition and instead want a larger, expanded, fluffy curl then PILLOW SOFT CURLS™ is for you! It’s the first “fabric softener” type styling lotion that will leave your curls clothesline fresh and fluffy soft.  You will see that  PILLOW SOFT CURLS™ is so easy to apply. It spreads so smoothly and feels as light as a feather on your curls.

I’m honestly thrilled that this came in my package and I’m really excited to try it out.  My hair is curly and I’m always struggling to find the right balance between hold & crunch.  I want good hold, but as Miss Jessie’s says, I don’t want my hair to look like ramen noodles either! 

Whish Three Wishes Body Butter (in Pomegranate)

Here’s what the website says:  For amazingly moisturized skin, we’ve created a truly indulgent body cream with a unique triple antioxidant based formula. This fully loaded lotion both softens and soothes the skin while also helping to replenish and firm. Such sweet softness. All Three Whishes products contain Organic Aloe, Organic Raspberry Butter, and Organic Shea Butter, enhancing life’s little desires three at a time. Enjoy Three Whishes Body Butter for its repairing and rejuvenating antioxidants. Available in almond, coconut, lavender, lemongrass and pomegranate flavors. Body Butter is made in the USA with Earth friendly packaging and ingredients. Tested on us, not animals.

In my opinion you can never have too much lotion.  The trial size that I received is in a perfect size container to go in my purse!  I’m definitely looking forward to trying this out!

Schick Hydro Silk Razor

Here’s what the website says:  Schick Hydro Silk™ hydrates skin like no other razor can. This uniquely designed razor goes beyond an incredibly close shave to actually care for your skin. With Water-Activated Moisturizing Serum & 5 Curve-Sensing blades with skin guards to help protect skin from irritation, the Hydro Silk™ razor leaves skin feeling silky smooth! And it’s preferred over the leading 5 blade razor.

Truthfully I use another brand of razor however this baby is going to go in my travel kit!

All in all, I’d have to say that the loot I got this go-round is the most useful out of all of the BirchBox boxes I’ve received so far.   Want to know about the other boxes?  You can go here, here, and here.

Leave a Reply

