August Date Night and some info about Labor Day

So I won’t lie – Augusts’ date night wasn’t much to get excited about.  Both the Hubs and I have birthdays in September and this year, we’ve decided to pool the money that we’d normally spend on each other for gifts in order to purchase something for the house that we’ve been wanting (more on that later).  In order to keep everything economical, we used this months’ date night as the Hubs’ birthday celebration.

So, we went to go see The Expendables 2 (movie review coming later) and went to eat at Red Lobster (he looooves endless shrimp and I love their cheddar bay biscuits… mmm mmm good).  I’ve gotta say, last time I was at Red Lobster I had their Parmesan-Crusted Tilapia and it was pretty good but not really dry enough for my tastes (I don’t like my fish mushy).  This time, I ordered the Fried Flounder and it was perfect.  Definitely yummy.

So yeah, that’s it.  Like I said – not too much exciting about our August date night.

On a completely different note – I thought I’d give you guys some info about Labor Day (since it just passed) in case you’re curious.  So here you go…

Labor Day – the first Monday in September – celebrates the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of America. On September 5, 1882, some 10,000 workers assembled in New York City to participate in America’s first Labor Day parade.  New York’s Labor Day celebrations inspired similar events across the country. Oregon became the first state to grant legal status to the holiday in 1887; other states soon followed. In 1894,Congress passed legislation making Labor Day a national holiday.

One response to “August Date Night and some info about Labor Day

  1. Pingback: Movie Review: The Expendables 2 « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

