Movie Review: Darkness Falls

I swear, sometimes I look at our Netflix queue and wonder how in the hell that movie made it in there.  As I’m the one who basically maintains it I know that in all likelihood I’m the one who added it to the queue in the first place but for the life of me I can’t remember why.  What was I thinking?  Did I read something that said I should watch it?  Was it on a list of ‘the best horror movies’ or ‘movies every guy should watch’ or some other random list of ‘best ___ movies’ I read?  Who knows.  I do know that I was possessed to put it on there for some reason (even if I don’t understand why now) so I rarely if ever remove anything from the queue.

This movie is definitely one of those movies.  When it showed up in our mailbox weeks ago (right before the Olympics) even my husband said ‘really?’  Now, don’t misunderstand, I love horror movies and/or thriller movies and this definitely qualifies (more as a thriller – it’s not really gory).  Still – if you read the synopsis the first adjective that probably comes to mind is ‘hokey.’

Synopsis (from IMDB):  A vengeful spirit has taken the form of the Tooth Fairy to exact vengeance on the town that lynched her 150 years earlier. Her only opposition is the only child, now grown up, who has survived her before.

All in all I would say that this movie lived up to the standards I’d expected out of it.  It wasn’t a big blockbuster.  It’s not a great movie.  It is, however, an entertaining one.  It’s definitely predictable and more ‘made for tv-ish’ but that’s ok with me.  I don’t have to fall in love with every single movie that I watch.  As I mentioned this arrived weeks ago right before the Olympics started and it’s taken me until now to watch it.  I’m glad I waited and didn’t watch it one night instead of watching the Olympics because then I’d probably be a little miffed.

The main character Kyle Walsh (played by Chaney Kley) is believable in the sense that you totally get why he is the way he is.  He gets the crap scared out of him as a child and is blamed for things that were totally not his fault.  As a result, he’s become a recluse and is totally terrified of the dark even as an adult.  Honestly, if I’d experienced what he did, I probably would be the same way.  When he comes back home to Darkness Falls to help his childhood friend Caitlin Greene (played by Emma Caulfield) it’s understandable that he doesn’t really want to get involved.  However, in the end he (of course) gets involved, becomes the hero, and totally saves the day.

The child character Michael Greene (played by Lee Cormie) does a phenomenal job.  I honestly wonder if this kid was scared to death after filming this movie.  Didn’t the girl from the original Exorcist eventually go crazy?  I always am (admittedly morbidly) curious to know if children in other horror/thriller movies also turn out all screwed up afterwards.  Do you think you could let your children star in that kind of a movie?

Have you seen this movie?  If so, what’d you think?

Random question:  All you parents out there… what’s the going rate for teeth these days anyways?

Leave a Reply

