Recipe Review: Baked Apple Pie Eggrolls

So I tried these babies out on my dad and my stepmom the other day and we all really enjoyed them.  I’m not a big fan of pie in general but I still think these are really nifty and they’re not particularly complicated to make.  I’d never used eggroll wrappers before and I found the process fun.  I enjoy doing something new and different in the kitchen.

Image from Chef in Training

Baked Apple Pie Eggrolls

Yield 12-16 eggrolls

Normally I’d put the recipe below but I really want you guys to go check out the website that I got it from instead.  It’s from a blog I read called Chef in Training.  Nikki (the author and chef) is incredible.  I’ve soooo enjoyed reading her blog the past few months.  If you want the deets on the recipe, go here.

 THOUGHTS

  • Under ‘instructions’ she says to let the filling mixture sit for 10 minutes – I got caught up doing stuff and it ended up sitting for nearly 3 hours.  Sadly, this makes the filling really runny and it ‘gooped’ out of the wrapper while they baked.  I highly recommend letting them sit for the recommended 10 minutes and then stuffing and baking these babies.
  • Conversely – the whipped cream held up fabulously in the refrigerator for about 3 hours.  You can definitely make this ahead of time.
  • At the end of the baking time for the eggrolls she says to bring them out, brush with egg wash and dust with cinnamon and sugar – I totally and completely missed this step and I truly wish I hadn’t.  It’s the cherry on top.
  • I left the leftovers with my stepmom and she heated them up the following morning for a few seconds in the microwave – she said they heated beautifully (didn’t get chewy). 

 I bet these would be AMAZING with my Farmhouse Chicken Dinner and Easy Peasy Green Beans.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

One Artsy Mama

I Heart Nap Time

UndertheTableandDreaming

Skip To My Lou

2 responses to “Recipe Review: Baked Apple Pie Eggrolls

  1. Pingback: Recipe Review: Chicken and Pepper Eggrolls « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

