Recipe Review: Zucchini, Black Bean and Rice Skillet

I found this recipe a while back here.  I’m fairly certain I was looking for vegetarian recipes that contained beans.  This could work well for a Meatless Monday dish or as a side dish.

Zucchini, Black Bean and Rice Skillet

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil
  • 1-1/2 cups zucchini, quartered & chopped
  • ½ cup green bell pepper, diced
  • 15 ounce can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 14.5 ounce can fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic, undrained
  • ¾ cup water
  • 1 cup instant white rice
  • ½ cup shredded cheddar and Monterrey jack cheese blend

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add zucchini and bell pepper, cook 5 minutes stirring occasionally.  Add beans, undrained tomatoes, and water.  Increase heat and bring to a boil.
  2. Add rice; stir well.  Cover; remove from heat and let stand 7 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.  Sprinkle with cheese.

THOUGHTS

  • So I didn’t add the cheese when I made this because I was trying to make it healthier.  Don’t do this.  It needs the cheese.  Desperately.
  • I felt like this dish was missing a lot (above and beyond the cheese).  Next time I would make it with some Rotel or I would add in a Tablespoon of taco seasoning or something.  It’s just kind of bland and boring – but not bad.  It definitely needs some tweaking though.
  • If you want a healthier version of this you can sub brown rice for the white rice.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Chic on a Shoestring
Classy Clutter
Delightful Order
DIY Show Off
Ginger Snap Crafts
Handy Man Crafty Woman
Happy Hour Projects
Home Stories A to Z
I Gotta Create
I Heart Naptime
Lil Luna
Mod Vintage Life
My Girlish Whims
One Artsy Mama
Skip to my Lou
Uncommon Designs
Under the Table and Dreaming

Leave a Reply

