Recipe Review: Crock Pot Bolognese Sauce

I have to be fair and say first and foremost that I’m biased.  My mom makes the best spaghetti sauce.  Period.  There’s no comparison.  Just ask my husband.  He totally agrees with me.  It’s not for everyone – it’s thick and it’s spicy – which is very different depending on what part of the country you’re from.  I grew up on it though so I love it.  My husband obviously didn’t grow up eating it but he adores it.  It’s probably his favorite meal.  So, it’s not entirely fair for me to review another spaghetti sauce recipe because in my eyes, I’ve already had the best.  That being said, I’m still going to go ahead and tell you what I thought about this recipe.

Crock Pot Bolognese Sauce

Serves 20 (serving size ½ cup)

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 oz pancetta, chopped (or center cut bacon) (I used pancetta)
  • 1 Tbsp butter (or olive oil) (I used olive oil)
  • 1 large white onion, minced
  • ¾ cup celery, chopped fine
  • ¾ cup carrots, chopped fine
  • 2 lb 95% lean ground beef
  • ¼ cup white wine
  • 2 – 28oz cans crushed tomatoes
  • 3 bay leaves
  • Salt and fresh pepper
  • ¼ cup chopped fresh parsley
  • ½ cup half and half

DIRECTIONS

Go here

THOUGHTS

  • I have never heard of putting pancetta, celery, carrots, white wine, or half and half in spaghetti sauce.  I don’t eat pork so I was already sort of wishy-washy to start.
  • This is definitely not my mom’s spaghetti sauce.
  • I had both my husband and my mom try this and they both said ‘meh’ – mom suggested mixing it with a can of vegetable soup and eating it as a soup.  I’m definitely not going to try that personally.
  • This made enough for 3 meals for the Hubs and I (i.e. 6 servings).  I put them all in the freezer and we will eat them on nights when all I have time to do is boil noodles.  I love freezer-ready meals.
  • Don’t misunderstand – this recipe isn’t bad, it’s just different.  I think spaghetti sauce is one of those things that people either love it one way or they hate it another way.  My neighbor makes hers with chicken and sugar.  Yuck!

I’ve linked up to these great parties:


Days of Chalk and Chocolate

One Artsy Mama

UndertheTableandDreaming

Skip To My Lou


logo_Sundae2

Leave a Reply

