Recipe Review: ‘Suck It, Betty Crocker’ Vanilla Cake with Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting

So my husband and I aren’t big sweets people.  The only sweet I really love is ice cream and my husband could basically do without sweets all together.  I don’t think that once in the five years we’ve been together he’s ever brought up sweets without prompting from someone else.  That being said, I LOVE to bake/make desserts.  So, whenever I’m entertaining, or I just get a whim, I’ll cook up a dessert and give it to our guests and/or bring it to work to share with coworkers. 

The idea of making a cake that tastes as good as if it came out of a box but that didn’t come out of a box definitely appeals to me.  It just so happens that I stumbled upon this recipe and I thought that my life was about to be complete. 

‘Suck It, Betty Crocker’ Vanilla Cake with Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting

INGREDIENTS

  • For the Cake
    • 1-1/2 cups sugar
    • ¾ cup butter flavored shortening
    • 2-1/2 cups all purpose flour
    • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 5 large egg yolks
    • ½ cup honey
    • 1 cup whole milk
    • ½ cup additional liquid (use any sweetened clear liquid such as cream soda, white wine, light-colored fruit juice, coconut milk, lemon-lime soda or sweet tea) (I used coconut milk)
    • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • For the Frosting
    • 5 large egg whites
    • 1-1/4 cups sugar
    • 2 cups (4 sticks) salted butter at room temperature
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS

Go here.

THOUGHTS

Sadly, this cake was a complete and utter disaster for me and I have no idea why.  The cake tasted awful – it literally tasted like I’d put a cardboard box in my food processor, ground it down to powder, and used that in place of flour.  And the icing?  Don’t even get me started.  After mixing for 20 MINUTES and getting NOTHING resembling ‘stiff peaks’ I gave up and tossed it down the drain.  I’ve made cake and frosting from scratch before and NEVER had these problems.  And strangely I don’t think it’s the recipe – there’s nothing in there that should have caused these problems (especially with the frosting – I sort of suspect that the butter flavored shortening is to blame for the cake).  So – all I can tell you is that this was a complete and utter recipe flop for me for some unknown reason.  I’d love for Mandy Rivers from South Your Mouth to tell me what the heck she thinks I did wrong!  I’m very sad this didn’t work out.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:


Days of Chalk and Chocolate

One Artsy Mama

UndertheTableandDreaming

Skip To My Lou


Leave a Reply

