140.6

So this morning was the first day that I got up an hour early to do the Couch to 5k program.  Really – I’m not even doing the program yet.  I’m just tying to ‘find my groove.’  What I mean by this is that I’m just trying to get in the habit of getting up an hour earlier on Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday to walk for 30 minutes to an hour.  As I’ve mentioned previously, I loooove my sleep.  We’re very good friends and losing what amounts to a half nights sleep over the course of a week does not appeal to me very much but I’m trying. 

Anyway – I was feel pretty good on my way in to work this morning and doing a fairly good job of patting myself on my back for getting up early and walking.  I came to a stop at a light and noticed a bumper sticker on the car in front of me.

It said ‘140.6.’ Have you ever seen those bumper stickers that say ’26.2’ or ’13.1?’  Well those are for people who have completed a marathon (26.2mi) or a half marathon (13.1mi).  I thought to myself ‘there’s NO WAY that someone ran 140.6 miles.’  So, I did what any normal person would do… I Googled it. 

Here’s what Urban Dictionary has to say: Popping up like weeds recently on little white bumperstickers belonging to egotistical masochists, this number represents the number of miles triathletes traverse in their feat of insanity. (For the mathematically challenged, that’s swimming 2.4 miles, biking 112 miles, and running 26.2).

For those who are wondering 140.6 is what constitutes an ‘Iron Man’ distance.  It’s not necessarily an Iron Man race (or sanctioned by them) but it follows the same distances. 

Talk about taking a giant needle to my self-congratulatory balloon.  140.6 MILES?!?!?  Are these people insane?  Scratch that.  Of course they are!  Now I realize that I’m just getting started.  As in literally – day one for crying out loud.  But still, good grief.  140.6 miles.  I just can’t get that out of my head.  I keep repeating it over and over and over again.  I’d be happy to run 140.6 feet without wanting to fall over and cry.  Please don’t misunderstand – I have absolutely no desire to be a triathelete and I totally realize that this journey that I’m starting is going to take a long, long time.  Perhaps you’re wondering what my goal is and if you are, I hate to burst your bubble but the truth is that I don’t really have one.  The only goal I have right now is just to do it.  To make it a habit.  To not hate every single minute of it (I didn’t hate it this morning honestly).  To be strong enough not to give up again for the zillionth time.  That’s my present goal.  Once I’ve gotten there, then I’ll work on something more specific and measurable.  But not 140.6 miles – that’s definitely specific and measurable but I’m not an ‘egotistical masochist [in search of a] feat of insanity.’

What are your fitness goals right now?  I’d love to know.

Leave a Reply

