Making Baby Burp Cloths

A while back I mentioned that I went to a friends baby shower.  This friend is the first friend that I’ve known that I knew before she was pregnant and has then had a baby.  When she told me she was preggo I was totally psyched for her and her hubby.  Naturally, my mind immediately started working overtime trying to figure out what I was going to make for her for her baby shower gift.  Then, as happens frequently in my life, life got completely and utterly out of hand.  In the end, I ended up taking a trip to Carter’s to buy her adorable baby boy some equally adorable clothes.  I’m thrilled with what I gave her (and I think / hope she was too) but I still wanted to go ahead and make something for her even though her baby shower had come and gone.

So – I whipped out some flannel fabric that I had purchased, made a Joann’s run to purchase some terry cloth fabric (i.e. towels) in matching colors and then sat down at my sewing machine for a few hours.

Here’s what I made:

Now – I’ll be honest… I made her 4 (or was it 6?) of these suckers and none a single one of them is the same size.  I wanted a finished product of 10” x 18” and between not being able to cut OR sew in a straight line I don’t think that any of them were on-point with my desired outcome.  Nonetheless, they turned out relatively cute and, if nothing else, functional.  And let’s face it… her kid is going to puke on these.  I sincerely doubt that he cares if my seams are straight.

Burp cloths are a great beginner sewing project.  You take your flannel and your terry cloth (note: you can buy towels at the dollar store instead of terry cloth fabric from a fabric store) and you cut out an 11” x 19” piece of both.  Pin right sides together and sew (using a ½” seam) all the way around, leaving approximately a 2” opening on one end.  Flip your burp cloth inside out, then stitch around the seams again, approximately ¼” from the edge.  Lastly – fold your burp cloth into thirds (length wise), mark the ‘fold’ with an erasable pen or, in my case, frog tape.  Then sew a straight line along your marker.  This helps to adhere to terry to the flannel as well as making it easy to fold the cloths for storage.

Have you ever made anything for a baby shower gift… Or a belated baby shower gift?

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Chic on a Shoestring
Classy Clutter
Delightful Order
DIY Show Off
Ginger Snap Crafts
Handy Man Crafty Woman
Happy Hour Projects
Home Stories A to Z
I Gotta Create
I Heart Naptime
Lil Luna
Mod Vintage Life
My Girlish Whims
One Artsy Mama
Skip to my Lou
Uncommon Designs
Under the Table and Dreaming

Leave a Reply

