Recipe Review: Easy Tomato Bisque

This is another recipe from Taste of Home.  You can view it here.  I fixed this with grilled cheese sandwiches the other day for my mom and hubby. 

Easy Tomato Bisque

Yield: 6 servings

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 2 Tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can (6 ounces) tomato paste
  • 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup half-and-half cream
  • Chopped fresh tomatoes, optional

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a medium saucepan, sauté garlic in butter for 1 minute. Stir in flour until blended; gradually add chicken broth. Stir in tomato paste and cayenne until well blended.
  2. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Reduce heat; gradually stir in cream. (Do not boil.) Garnish with chopped tomatoes if desired.

THOUGHTS

  • I thought this soup had waaaaay too much garlic and I didn’t like the spice that was added from the cayenne pepper.  If I were even to attempt to make this again I would use half the garlic and take out the cayenne all together.  I also didn’t add the chopped fresh tomatoes. 

I’ve linked up to these great parties:


One Artsy Mama

I Heart Nap Time

UndertheTableandDreaming

Skip To My Lou


One response to “Recipe Review: Easy Tomato Bisque

  1. What a heartwarming dish!
    I would love to have you share this or any other recipe of yours at Wednesday Extravaganza – my Foodie Link Party with the chance to get a lifetime feature on my Wall of Fame! Here is the link:
    http://www.hungrylittlegirl.com/1/post/2012/11/wednesday-extravaganza-3.html

    Can’t wait to see you there!

Leave a Reply

