Recipe Review: Pizza Pasta Soup

I know I’ve told you guys a zillion times that I love soup and with fall decending upon us I have to tell you – I’m stoked.  It’s finally soup season!  Although – I’ll eat soup when it’s 100 degrees outside so I guess I should say that it’s finally soup season for the rest of you not-crazy people.  🙂

I got this recipe here.

I want to preface (so you’re not confused later) by saying that there’s nothing ‘pizza-ish’ about this soup, so I’ve renamed it.  Ha!

Pasta Pizza Soup  Italian Hamburger Vegetable Soup

Servings: 8

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 4 ounces sliced fresh mushrooms (I used ‘white’ or ‘button’ mushrooms)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 celery rib, thinly sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) Italian diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced
  • 4 teaspoons beef bouillon granules
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1-1/2 cups cooked tricolor spiral pasta

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large saucepan over medium heat cook the beef, mushrooms, onion and celery until meat is no longer pink.  Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer.  Drain.
  2. Stir in the water, tomatoes, carrots, bouillon, bay leaf and oregano. 
  3. Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes or until carrots are tender.  Stir in pasta; heat through.  Discard bay leaf. 

THOUGHTS

  • This is definitely a hearty soup.  A big steaming bowl of this soup with some crusty bread for dipping and you’ve got yourself a wonderful chilly weather meal. 
  • I used the type of spiral pasta that is part grain and part vegi (similar to this).  Doing so makes this dish even healthier and I promise that no one in your family will know the difference. 
  • My husband HATES mushrooms (which I love) and I chopped mine up really fine and guess what?  He never even knew they were in there!  Score!
  • If you use the vegi/grain pasta AND super-duper low fat meat this is a crazy healthy meal.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:


One Artsy Mama

I Heart Nap Time

UndertheTableandDreaming

Skip To My Lou


Leave a Reply

